British Comedy Awards 2013 nominations

Tuesday 3rd December 2013, 11:30am

Update: Winners Announced

The nominees for The British Comedy Awards 2013 have been announced.

The list includes multiple nominations for Count Arthur Strong, Psychobitches, Would I Lie To You?, A League of Their Own, 8 Out Of 10 Cats Does Countdown, Getting On, Adam Hills and Alan Carr.

Best Comedy Panel Show

8 Out Of 10 Cats Does Countdown. Image shows from L to R: Sean Lock, Jimmy Carr, Jon Richardson. Copyright: ITV Studios / Zeppotron.8 Out Of 10 Cats Does Countdown

A League of Their Own

Have I Got News For You

Would I Lie To You?

Best Comedy Entertainment Programme

Alan Carr: Chatty Man. Alan Carr. Copyright: Open Mike Productions.Alan Carr: Chatty Man

Ant & Dec's Saturday Night Takeaway

The Graham Norton Show

The Last Leg

Best Sketch Show

Harry & Paul. Image shows from L to R: Paul Whitehouse, Harry Enfield. Copyright: Tiger Aspect Productions.Harry & Paul

Horrible Histories

It's Kevin


Best Sitcom

Bad Education. Image shows from L to R: Miss Gulliver (Sarah Solemani), Alfie (Jack Whitehall), Fraser (Mathew Horne). Copyright: Tiger Aspect Productions.Bad Education

Count Arthur Strong

Getting On

Peep Show

Best New Comedy Programme

Count Arthur Strong. Image shows from L to R: Count Arthur Strong (Steve Delaney), Michael Baker (Rory Kinnear). Copyright: Retort / Komedia Entertainment.Count Arthur Strong




Best Male TV Comic

Would I Lie To You?. David Mitchell. Copyright: Zeppotron.David Mitchell (for Would I Lie To You?)

James Corden (for A League of Their Own)

Jon Richardson (for 8 Out Of 10 Cats Does Countdown)

Lee Mack (for Would I Lie To You?)

Best Female TV Comic

Miranda Hart.Miranda Hart (for Room 101)

Nina Conti (for Live At The Apollo)

Sarah Millican (for The Sarah Millican Television Programme)

Sue Perkins & Mel Giedroyc (for The Great British Bake Off)

Best Comedy Entertainment Personality

The Last Leg. Adam Hills. Copyright: Open Mike Productions.Adam Hills (for The Last Leg)

Alan Carr (for Alan Carr: Chatty Man)

Ant & Dec (for Saturday Night Takeaway)

Graham Norton (for The Graham Norton Show)

Best Comedy Breakthrough Artist

The Last Leg. Adam Hills. Copyright: Open Mike Productions.Adam Hills (for The Last Leg)

Jonny Sweet (for Chickens)

Steve Delaney (for Count Arthur Strong)

Tom Basden (for Plebs)

Best TV Comedy Actor

Peep Show. Mark Corrigan (David Mitchell). Copyright: Objective Productions.David Mitchell (for Peep Show)

Greg Davies (for Cuckoo)

Jack Whitehall (for Fresh Meat)

Kevin Eldon (for It's Kevin)

Best TV Comedy Actress

Getting On. Nurse Kim Wilde (Jo Brand). Copyright: Vera Productions.Jo Brand (for Getting On)

Miranda Hart (for Miranda)

Vicki Pepperdine (for Getting On)

Zawe Ashton (for Fresh Meat)

Special Awards

The British Comedy Awards. Copyright: Unique Productions / CPL Productions.There will also be three special awards given out on the night:

The British Comedy Outstanding Achievement Award

The Writer's Guild of Great Britain Award

The Award for International Achievement

King Or Queen Of Comedy Award

Voting is on-going for the King or Queen of Comedy Award. Below are the six nominees, with the numbers to call. Voting lines will be open until approximately 10pm on the night of the awards, with Jack Whitehall announcing the result live as part of the ceremony. Nominee profiles

Alan Carr.


Mobile: 6 50 58 01

Landline: 09020 50 58 01

David Mitchell.


Mobile: 6 50 58 02

Landline: 09020 50 58 02

Graham Norton.


Mobile: 6 50 58 03

Landline: 09020 50 58 03

Jack Whitehall.


Mobile: 6 50 58 04

Landline: 09020 50 58 04

Lee Mack.


Mobile: 6 50 58 05

Landline: 09020 50 58 05

Sarah Millican.


Mobile: 6 50 58 06

Landline: 09020 50 58 06

Calls from mobiles and BT landlines cost just 35p (other landlines may vary). You may vote more than once. Full terms and conditions at

Watch The British Comedy Awards

The British Comedy Awards. Jonathan Ross. Copyright: Unique Productions / CPL Productions.The British Comedy Awards Nominations Show, which will include clips of the nominees in action and interviews with many of those involved, will be broadcast on Channel 4 tomorrow (Wednesday 4th December) at 10:45pm.

This year, the programme will include the announcement of which show has won the Best New Comedy Programme category.

The main ceremony is on Thursday 12th December 2013. Jonathan Ross (pictured) hosts again, with the results broadcast live on Channel 4 from 9pm.

Related Guides

Latest news