British Comedy Guide 2021 News Archive

Here is a list of all the news stories we published in 2021.

May 2021

  1. Chuckle Brothers to return via animated pilot
    Tuesday 11th May 2021
  2. Alma's Not Normal series filming in Bolton
    Monday 10th May 2021
  3. Comedy Central reveals three new shows
    Monday 10th May 2021
  4. Dylan Moran creates new BBC sitcom
    Friday 7th May 2021
  5. Anneka Rice writing sitcom about her fake agent
    Friday 7th May 2021
  6. Home axed by Channel 4
    Thursday 6th May 2021
  7. Cast revealed for UK version of 'Call My Agent!'
    Thursday 6th May 2021
  8. Sindhu Vee pilots sitcom Winning for Channel 4
    Wednesday 5th May 2021
  9. CBBC announces period family comedy Dodger
    Wednesday 5th May 2021
  10. Comedy commissioner Shane Allen quits BBC to form Boffola Pictures
    Wednesday 5th May 2021
  11. Victor Meldrew to return
    Wednesday 5th May 2021
  12. Richard Ayoade to host Question Team on Dave
    Wednesday 5th May 2021
  13. Fern Brady, Darren Harriott and Ivo Graham front British As Folk
    Wednesday 5th May 2021
  14. Tom Allen to host Dave show The Island
    Wednesday 5th May 2021
  15. David Mitchell hosts challenge show Outsiders
    Wednesday 5th May 2021
  16. Spice Girls reportedly planning Spice World sequel
    Tuesday 4th May 2021
  17. Rose Matafeo confirms Starstruck Series 2 in production
    Tuesday 4th May 2021
  18. Nina Sosanya leads cast in Channel 4 prison comedy Screw
    Tuesday 4th May 2021
  19. Guz Khan reveals Man Like Mobeen Series 4 will end the show
    Saturday 1st May 2021

April 2021

  1. Paul Sinha's TV Showdown to return for Series 2
    Friday 30th April 2021
  2. Joe Lycett to publish glossy coffee table book of bins
    Friday 30th April 2021
  3. Lauren Pattison writes debut play
    Friday 30th April 2021
  4. Katherine Ryan reveals Netflix has cancelled The Duchess
    Thursday 29th April 2021
  5. Widowhood comedy Wife After Death in development
    Thursday 29th April 2021
  6. Rhod Gilbert's Growing Pains gets second series
    Thursday 29th April 2021
  7. Jon Richardson's Channel Hopping returns for Series 2
    Thursday 29th April 2021
  8. Al Murray's stalker barred from attending his shows
    Wednesday 28th April 2021
  9. BAFTA TV Awards 2021 nominations
    Wednesday 28th April 2021
  10. Ken Cheng and Leila Navabi host CBBC show
    Tuesday 27th April 2021
  11. Spencer Jones's The Mind Of Herbert Clunkerdunk to return
    Tuesday 27th April 2021
  12. Katherine Ryan hosts ITV2 dating game show Ready To Mingle
    Monday 26th April 2021
  13. Sandylands Series 2 in production
    Monday 26th April 2021
  14. Comedy stars join time-travel film The Unreason
    Saturday 24th April 2021
  15. Andi Osho is writing a novel about a stand-up comedian
    Friday 23rd April 2021
  16. Steve Coogan movie The Lost King begins filming
    Friday 23rd April 2021
  17. Bradley Walsh to return with more Blankety Blank
    Friday 23rd April 2021
  18. BBC Wales reveals new TV comedy pilots
    Thursday 22nd April 2021
  19. BBC pilots PE teacher sitcom from Mike Bubbins
    Thursday 22nd April 2021
  20. Maddy Anholt becomes Women's Aid ambassador
    Thursday 22nd April 2021
  21. Comedies nominated in Audio & Radio Industry Awards
    Wednesday 21st April 2021
  22. Unseen Victoria Wood scripts to be published
    Tuesday 20th April 2021
  23. #SaveLiveComedy Fund launched as impact of covid revealed
    Tuesday 20th April 2021
  24. Rob Beckett to publish a memoir in October
    Monday 19th April 2021
  25. Conversations From A Long Marriage to return for Series 3
    Sunday 18th April 2021
  26. Mel & Sue plotting live comedy return
    Friday 16th April 2021
  27. Comedy Slices revealed as BBC marks female representation milestone
    Friday 16th April 2021
  28. Broadcast Awards 2021 comedy nominees revealed
    Thursday 15th April 2021
  29. Disney+ orders superhero comedy Extraordinary
    Thursday 15th April 2021
  30. Paul O'Grady's Saturday Night Line-Up series coming to ITV
    Thursday 15th April 2021
  31. Ladhood Series 2 now filming
    Tuesday 13th April 2021
  32. Jimmy Carr has written his autobiography
    Monday 12th April 2021
  33. Benidorm star Nathan Bryon co-writes first film
    Monday 12th April 2021
  34. Harry Hill has written his autobiography
    Monday 12th April 2021
  35. Paul Merton and Suki Webster to film Channel 5 motorhome series
    Monday 12th April 2021
  36. Josh Widdicombe has written his autobiography
    Saturday 10th April 2021
  37. Cold Feet could return soon with specials
    Friday 9th April 2021
  38. Alleyway Chefs pilot published online
    Thursday 8th April 2021
  39. Ricky Gervais to launch new podcast
    Thursday 8th April 2021
  40. CiarĂ¡n Dowd films Don Rodolfo for BBC Two
    Wednesday 7th April 2021
  41. Meet The Richardsons set to return for Series 3
    Tuesday 6th April 2021
  42. Ben Miller to play a zombie in The Loneliest Boy In The World
    Tuesday 6th April 2021
  43. Friday Night Dinner star Paul Ritter dies aged 54
    Tuesday 6th April 2021
  44. Hi-De-Hi! star Jeffrey Holland to pilot Simply Ken sitcom
    Saturday 3rd April 2021
  45. Jessica Hynes and Ryan Sampson pilot Catching The Bus
    Friday 2nd April 2021
  46. Lost Voice Guy finds his Geordie voice
    Thursday 1st April 2021
  47. Mel Giedroyc's Unforgivable to return for Series 2
    Thursday 1st April 2021
  48. Sitcom creators Marks & Gran to publish comedy writing guide
    Thursday 1st April 2021
  49. Ghosts to be remade in America
    Thursday 1st April 2021

March 2021

  1. Back To Life Series 2 filming now with Meera Syal and Adrian Edmondson
    Wednesday 31st March 2021
  2. Mo Gilligan to publish autobiography
    Wednesday 31st March 2021
  3. Cruise ship slasher comedy Wrecked coming to BBC Three
    Tuesday 30th March 2021
  4. Defending The Guilty's second series cancelled because of coronavirus
    Tuesday 30th March 2021
  5. Lenny Henry given Legend Of Comedy award
    Monday 29th March 2021
  6. Maya Jama joins Celebrity Juice panel
    Monday 29th March 2021
  7. Katherine Ryan goes Backstage with Amazon for Q&A show
    Monday 29th March 2021
  8. Shappi Khorsandi writes novel about teen sexual abuse, Kissing Emma
    Monday 29th March 2021
  9. Jerk Series 2 begins filming
    Monday 29th March 2021
  10. Chortle Awards names Legends Of Lockdown
    Sunday 28th March 2021
  11. Comedian Leo Kearse to run for Scots Parliament
    Sunday 28th March 2021
  12. Billie Piper and Andrew Scott to star in Catherine, Called Birdy
    Sunday 28th March 2021
  13. Emily Atack Show returns for Series 2
    Sunday 28th March 2021
  14. The Skewer wins at BBC Audio Awards
    Friday 26th March 2021
  15. Motherland to be re-made in America
    Thursday 25th March 2021
  16. Staged to arrive on BritBox with extended length episodes
    Wednesday 24th March 2021
  17. Trying to return to Apple TV+ for Series 3
    Wednesday 24th March 2021
  18. Ken Dodd comedy drama in the works for ITV
    Wednesday 24th March 2021
  19. Worzel Gummidge episodes filming this summer
    Wednesday 24th March 2021
  20. James McNicholas to publish The Champ & The Chump book
    Wednesday 24th March 2021
  21. Bob Mortimer is to publish his autobiography
    Wednesday 24th March 2021
  22. Douglas Adams archive book to be published
    Tuesday 23rd March 2021
  23. Julian Clary to publish autobiography The Lick Of Love
    Tuesday 23rd March 2021
  24. Jack Whitehall to publish How To Survive Family Holidays book
    Friday 19th March 2021
  25. Andrew Doyle to join GB News
    Friday 19th March 2021
  26. The Mash Report may move to Dave
    Friday 19th March 2021
  27. Romantic comedy drama You & Me coming to ITV
    Thursday 18th March 2021
  28. Athena Kugblenu creates Radio 4 series about cancel culture
    Wednesday 17th March 2021
  29. In My Skin to return for Series 2
    Wednesday 17th March 2021
  30. Relativity to return to Radio 4 for Series 4
    Wednesday 17th March 2021
  31. Mae Martin and Joe Lycett amongst RTS winners
    Wednesday 17th March 2021
  32. Geoff Norcott to record Radio 4 stand-up special
    Tuesday 16th March 2021
  33. Adam Kay to write more children's books
    Tuesday 16th March 2021
  34. Fawlty Towers to be released as vinyl LP collection
    Tuesday 16th March 2021
  35. There's Something About Movies returning for Series 4
    Monday 15th March 2021
  36. Shaun The Sheep 2: Farmageddon gets Oscar nomination
    Monday 15th March 2021
  37. Starstruck cast confirmed
    Monday 15th March 2021
  38. Flatmates to return to BBC iPlayer for Series 2
    Friday 12th March 2021
  39. Staged and Gone Fishing win Broadcasting Press Guild Awards
    Friday 12th March 2021
  40. Exploding Heads launch sitcom that only one person will hear
    Friday 12th March 2021
  41. The Mash Report axed after four series
    Friday 12th March 2021
  42. Jack Whitehall's Travels With My Father gets Series 5
    Thursday 11th March 2021
  43. Mark Steel writing book about finding his birth parents
    Thursday 11th March 2021
  44. Alfie Moore's Radio 4 comedy It's A Fair Cop returns for Series 6
    Thursday 11th March 2021
  45. Miranda Hart, Greg Davies and Alice Lowe BBC sketch pilot uncovered
    Thursday 11th March 2021
  46. Iain Stirling's Buffering series confirmed by ITV2
    Wednesday 10th March 2021
  47. Deborah Frances-White to write Six Conversations We're Scared To Have
    Wednesday 10th March 2021
  48. Red Nose Day 2021 highlights revealed
    Tuesday 9th March 2021
  49. Harry Hill's Queen episode removed from BBC Two schedule
    Tuesday 9th March 2021
  50. Trevor Peacock who played Jim in The Vicar Of Dibley dies aged 89
    Tuesday 9th March 2021
  51. Would I Lie To You? to be remade in America
    Tuesday 9th March 2021
  52. Ashley Storrie starring in BBC autism comedy Dinosaur
    Monday 8th March 2021
  53. Comic Maddy Anholt to publish book on toxic relationships
    Monday 8th March 2021
  54. Arthur Smith writing book and Radio 4 special about his father
    Sunday 7th March 2021
  55. John Cleese writes emu film with Rob Schneider
    Saturday 6th March 2021
  56. Ignacio Lopez to record radio stand-up special
    Thursday 4th March 2021
  57. Daisy May Cooper suspends own Instagram account in publishing row
    Thursday 4th March 2021
  58. Russell Brand to release audiobook about "the sacred in everyday life"
    Wednesday 3rd March 2021
  59. Daisy May Cooper to publish memoir
    Wednesday 3rd March 2021
  60. Joe Lycett's Got Your Back is back for Series 3
    Wednesday 3rd March 2021
  61. Coma sitcom pilot Beep to air on the BBC this March
    Wednesday 3rd March 2021
  62. Royal Television Society Awards 2021 nominations
    Tuesday 2nd March 2021
  63. Finding Alice to return for Series 2
    Monday 1st March 2021
  64. Comedian panel revealed for BBC One series This Is MY House
    Monday 1st March 2021
  65. Guessable to return for second series
    Monday 1st March 2021

February 2021

  1. Leicester Comedy Festival 2021 Awards nominees
    Friday 26th February 2021
  2. BBC Two's Funny Festival Live line-up revealed
    Wednesday 24th February 2021
  3. Billy Connolly to publish his autobiography in October
    Wednesday 24th February 2021
  4. Tom Allen to host Quizness on Channel 4
    Wednesday 24th February 2021
  5. Phil Wang to publish first book, Sidesplitter
    Wednesday 24th February 2021
  6. BBC Three commissions PRU, Zen School Of Motoring & shorts
    Tuesday 23rd February 2021
  7. Bananaman to return in new cartoon series
    Monday 22nd February 2021
  8. Katherine Parkinson creates BBC Four comedy drama Sitting
    Sunday 21st February 2021
  9. Phoebe Waller-Bridge becomes Edinburgh Fringe Society president
    Friday 19th February 2021
  10. Nish Kumar to release stand-up albums
    Thursday 18th February 2021
  11. Staged script book set to be published
    Thursday 18th February 2021
  12. CelebAbility returning for Series 5
    Thursday 18th February 2021
  13. Helena Bonham Carter amongst cast joining Greg Davies in The Cleaner
    Thursday 18th February 2021
  14. Comedies nominated in Broadcasting Press Guild Awards
    Thursday 18th February 2021
  15. Alan Carr is working on a sitcom about his childhood
    Monday 15th February 2021
  16. Matt Lucas to celebrate 50 years of Mr Men
    Monday 15th February 2021
  17. Comedy writer Iain Pattinson has died
    Monday 15th February 2021
  18. BBC to broadcast The Festival Of Funny
    Monday 15th February 2021
  19. Patrick Kielty records Radio 4 stand-up show
    Monday 15th February 2021
  20. Truth Seekers cancelled after one series
    Sunday 14th February 2021
  21. Toast Of Tinseltown announced for BBC One
    Wednesday 10th February 2021
  22. George Fouracres to record Radio 4 stand-up special
    Tuesday 9th February 2021
  23. Comedy.co.uk Awards 2020 winners
    Monday 8th February 2021
  24. Daliso Chaponda joins judging panel for Wodehouse book contest
    Friday 5th February 2021
  25. BBC comedy declared "at risk"
    Friday 5th February 2021
  26. 'Murder, They Hope' cast revealed
    Friday 5th February 2021
  27. Stevo The Madman piloting BBC comedy
    Friday 5th February 2021
  28. Lost Voice Guy's sitcom Ability being piloted for TV
    Thursday 4th February 2021
  29. Matt Richardson replacing Rufus Hound on Dancing On Ice
    Thursday 4th February 2021
  30. Rose Matafeo's Horndog comes to BBC ahead of Starstruck Series 2
    Thursday 4th February 2021
  31. Dawn French and Peter Serafinowicz record Timewaster Letters
    Thursday 4th February 2021
  32. Fergus Craig announces Roger LeCarre novel
    Wednesday 3rd February 2021
  33. Sarah Kendall's Frayed to return to Sky for Series 2
    Wednesday 3rd February 2021
  34. Russell Tovey & Sian Clifford star in new improvised film
    Tuesday 2nd February 2021
  35. Red Nose Day 2021 is on Friday 19th March
    Tuesday 2nd February 2021
  36. Only Fools And Horses stamps to be released by Royal Mail
    Tuesday 2nd February 2021
  37. Jim Smith shoots The Farm sitcom pilot for BBC Scotland
    Monday 1st February 2021

January 2021

  1. Dating No Filter reveals comedian line-ups
    Friday 29th January 2021
  2. French & Saunders film Funny Women documentary special
    Friday 29th January 2021
  3. Comedy stars take part in Celebrity Bake Off 2021
    Thursday 28th January 2021
  4. Judi Love & Emily Atack land new comedy series
    Thursday 28th January 2021
  5. Patrick Kielty stars as a stand-up in new film Ballywalter
    Thursday 28th January 2021
  6. Miles Jupp writes his first novel
    Thursday 28th January 2021
  7. Mack and Salt land BBC Three comedy pilot Amicable
    Wednesday 27th January 2021
  8. Inside No. 9 Series 6 cast revealed
    Wednesday 27th January 2021
  9. E4 pilots animated dating comedy
    Tuesday 26th January 2021
  10. Katherine Ryan to publish autobiography
    Tuesday 26th January 2021
  11. Greg Davies's therapy comedy Safe Space gets Sky series
    Monday 25th January 2021
  12. Russell Howard filming New Zealand tour travelogue for Sky
    Monday 25th January 2021
  13. Michael McIntyre's The Wheel to return for Series 2
    Sunday 24th January 2021
  14. Only Fools And Horses van to be auctioned
    Saturday 23rd January 2021
  15. Peter Kay's Car Share car up for sale
    Friday 22nd January 2021
  16. Channel 4 pulls out of Year Of The Rabbit Series 2
    Thursday 21st January 2021
  17. Jason Manford to host BBC quiz show Unbeatable
    Thursday 21st January 2021
  18. Lost Voice Guy's Ability to return to Radio 4
    Tuesday 19th January 2021
  19. Lucy Beaumont writes a "mumoir" book
    Tuesday 19th January 2021
  20. Brittas Empire cast to reunite for online event
    Tuesday 19th January 2021
  21. Noel Fielding's designs for fashion label Fendi unveiled
    Monday 18th January 2021
  22. BBC snaps up acclaimed comedy about racism in British film industry
    Friday 15th January 2021
  23. Sophie Thompson and Tony Way to star in The Unreason
    Friday 15th January 2021
  24. Vic Reeves & Morgana Robinson star in sitcom podcast
    Thursday 14th January 2021
  25. Adam Hills writing a children's book
    Thursday 14th January 2021
  26. Stranger Times book set to become TV show
    Thursday 14th January 2021
  27. 'The Vicar Of Dibley: Inside Out' tribute documentary to air on Gold
    Thursday 14th January 2021
  28. Channel 4 announces Friday Night Dinner Night
    Thursday 14th January 2021
  29. Timewasters to be piloted in America
    Wednesday 13th January 2021
  30. Friday Night Dinner gets documentary but maybe no new series
    Wednesday 13th January 2021
  31. Simon Bird directs Pls Like Series 3
    Wednesday 13th January 2021
  32. Mat Horne co-writes comedy drama about a man on the run
    Wednesday 13th January 2021
  33. Stephen Merchant's The Offenders gets second series
    Wednesday 13th January 2021
  34. Mother F**king Pep Talk coming to Comedy Central
    Tuesday 12th January 2021
  35. Mr Bean live action return mooted
    Monday 11th January 2021
  36. ITV to air unseen footage of Ronnie Corbett
    Monday 11th January 2021
  37. Comedy.co.uk Awards 2020 shortlist
    Monday 11th January 2021
  38. Ian Smith to record comedy documentary for Radio 4
    Monday 11th January 2021
  39. Radio 4 comedies nominated in BBC Audio Awards 2020
    Friday 8th January 2021
  40. Michael Palin to publish fourth diary collection
    Friday 8th January 2021
  41. Mortimer & Whitehouse launch Gone Fishing website
    Thursday 7th January 2021
  42. Spamalot film to go into production
    Thursday 7th January 2021
  43. Alexei Sayle to record two more Radio 4 series
    Wednesday 6th January 2021
  44. Mr Bean animated film in development
    Tuesday 5th January 2021
  45. Rowan Atkinson may return as Blackadder one day
    Tuesday 5th January 2021
  46. John Bishop joins Doctor Who for next series
    Friday 1st January 2021
  47. Blankety Blank most-watched new TV comedy in 2020
    Friday 1st January 2021