British Comedy Guide 2019 News Archive

Here is a list of all the news stories we published in 2019.

May 2019

  1. Union JACK orders Series 3 of Geoff Lloyd's Hometown Glory
    Thursday 23rd May 2019
  2. ITV2 orders zombie apocalypse sitcom
    Thursday 23rd May 2019
  3. BBC Four orders more Big Night Out
    Thursday 23rd May 2019
  4. BBC Two orders CGI-Putin chat show
    Wednesday 22nd May 2019
  5. BBC decommissions Martin Clunes's Warren
    Monday 20th May 2019
  6. Catherine Tate's Nan to star in a film
    Monday 20th May 2019
  7. 'Jerry Springer - The Opera' returns in August
    Thursday 16th May 2019
  8. Lenny Henry announces 2019 tour
    Thursday 16th May 2019
  9. Comedies in the running for Broadcast Digital Awards 2019
    Thursday 16th May 2019
  10. New film of Blithe Spirit announced
    Wednesday 15th May 2019
  11. Dame Edna to host BBC special
    Wednesday 15th May 2019
  12. Miles Jupp quits The News Quiz
    Wednesday 15th May 2019
  13. Channel 4 orders sixth Friday Night Dinner
    Monday 13th May 2019
  14. BAFTA TV Awards 2019 winners revealed
    Sunday 12th May 2019
  15. Have I Got News For You episode pulled
    Friday 10th May 2019
  16. Scottish Comedy Awards 2019 nominations
    Friday 10th May 2019
  17. Heresy to return to Radio 4
    Friday 10th May 2019
  18. The Guilty Feminist books Royal Albert Hall gig
    Friday 10th May 2019
  19. Freddie Starr found dead at 76
    Thursday 9th May 2019
  20. Ebury to publish new John Bishop book
    Thursday 9th May 2019
  21. Dave orders Sara Pascoe's Comedians Giving Lectures
    Thursday 9th May 2019
  22. ITV2 to broadcast new series Shopping With Keith Lemon
    Thursday 9th May 2019
  23. Milton Jones announces 2020 tour
    Thursday 9th May 2019
  24. Bridget Christie to 'curate' The Museum Of Curiosity Series 14
    Wednesday 8th May 2019
  25. Paul Chowdhry to record stand-up special at Hackney Empire
    Tuesday 7th May 2019
  26. Comedy stars to host Sri Lanka fundraising gig
    Thursday 2nd May 2019
  27. Phoebe Waller-Bridge to perform Fleabag play for final run
    Thursday 2nd May 2019
  28. Stephen Fry announces first UK tour in nearly 40 years
    Thursday 2nd May 2019
  29. Harry Hill to judge Beano's Britain's Funniest Class competition
    Thursday 2nd May 2019
  30. Comedians star in Dave mental health podcast
    Wednesday 1st May 2019
  31. Gold reveals Britain's Greatest Comedian list
    Wednesday 1st May 2019
  32. Cast announced for Kill Climate Deniers play
    Wednesday 1st May 2019
  33. Jack Whitehall to guest host The Graham Norton Show
    Wednesday 1st May 2019

April 2019

  1. Reginald Perrin musical in development
    Tuesday 30th April 2019
  2. Cast revealed for new comedy Mae And George
    Tuesday 30th April 2019
  3. Chris Ramsey to film stand-up special
    Tuesday 30th April 2019
  4. Kind Hearts And Coronets gets 70th anniversary re-release
    Tuesday 30th April 2019
  5. Rob Beckett to host BBC One daytime quiz Head Hunters
    Monday 29th April 2019
  6. BBC Scotland produces four iPlayer series
    Monday 29th April 2019
  7. Comedy Central to pilot Cards Against Humanity show
    Friday 26th April 2019
  8. Craig Ferguson's first UK stand-up show for over 25 years
    Friday 26th April 2019
  9. Amnesty International announces Secret Policeman's Tour
    Wednesday 24th April 2019
  10. CBBC sitcom star Mya-Lecia Naylor dies
    Thursday 18th April 2019
  11. Zapped cancelled after three series
    Wednesday 17th April 2019
  12. David Eagle wins Bath New Act Competition 2019
    Wednesday 17th April 2019
  13. Basil Brush to perform at Edinburgh Festival
    Monday 15th April 2019
  14. Union JACK radio commissions new comedy shows
    Monday 15th April 2019
  15. Filming begins on BBC One comedy Scarborough
    Monday 15th April 2019
  16. Katie Pritchard wins Musical Comedy Awards 2019
    Saturday 13th April 2019
  17. Stephen Mangan and Kara Tointon to star in The Man In The White Suit
    Friday 12th April 2019
  18. Arthur Smith presented with Bath Plug Award
    Thursday 11th April 2019
  19. BBC Three to launch Threesomes sketch strand
    Thursday 11th April 2019
  20. Enterprice Series 2 confirmed
    Thursday 11th April 2019
  21. Dennis The Menace musical to launch
    Thursday 11th April 2019
  22. Sky orders Alan Carr panel show There's Something About Movies
    Wednesday 10th April 2019
  23. Derry Girls returns for third series on Channel 4
    Tuesday 9th April 2019
  24. Fawlty Towers tops Radio Times greatest British sitcom list
    Tuesday 9th April 2019
  25. John Bishop to host new game show pilot
    Sunday 7th April 2019
  26. Rhod Gilbert to leave Radio Wales
    Thursday 4th April 2019
  27. Netflix confirms Series 2 of Ricky Gervais sitcom After Life
    Wednesday 3rd April 2019
  28. Elis James and John Robins join BBC Radio 5 Live
    Tuesday 2nd April 2019
  29. Jo Brand wins Legend Of Comedy Award
    Tuesday 2nd April 2019

March 2019

  1. BAFTA TV Awards nominations
    Thursday 28th March 2019
  2. Elis James and John Robins leave Radio X
    Wednesday 27th March 2019
  3. E4 orders Mae Martin sitcom
    Wednesday 27th March 2019
  4. James Corden to miss some A League Of Their Own filming
    Tuesday 26th March 2019
  5. Filming starts on Doc Martin Series 9
    Monday 25th March 2019
  6. Petition to commemorate Only Fools And Horses location launched
    Thursday 21st March 2019
  7. RTS Awards 2019 winners include Mum and Derry Girls
    Tuesday 19th March 2019
  8. Al Murray to narrate Vanity Fair on Radio 4
    Tuesday 19th March 2019
  9. Chortle Awards 2019 results
    Monday 18th March 2019
  10. Katie Pritchard wins 2Northdown New Act competition
    Monday 18th March 2019
  11. Nicholas Parsons honoured at Broadcasting Press Guild Awards
    Friday 15th March 2019
  12. BBC to pilot topical late night comedy show
    Friday 15th March 2019
  13. Urban Myths Series 3 line-up
    Friday 15th March 2019
  14. Channel 4 to follow Johnny Vegas as he sets up camping site
    Thursday 14th March 2019
  15. Frank Skinner celebrates a decade on Absolute Radio with 10 hour show
    Wednesday 13th March 2019
  16. Jessica Knappett joins Judge Romesh Series 2
    Wednesday 13th March 2019
  17. Katy Wix and Lolly Adefope join Ghosts
    Wednesday 13th March 2019
  18. Mischief Theatre to launch Magic Goes Wrong stage show
    Thursday 7th March 2019
  19. 8 Out Of 10 Cats returns to E4
    Thursday 7th March 2019
  20. Felicity Ward to star in Kill Climate Deniers play
    Thursday 7th March 2019
  21. Leicester Comedy Festival 2019 Award nominees
    Wednesday 6th March 2019
  22. The Goodies return for audio special
    Wednesday 6th March 2019
  23. Comedies up for RTS Awards 2019
    Tuesday 5th March 2019
  24. BBC confirms Red Nose Day 2019 plans
    Tuesday 5th March 2019
  25. BBC orders another Alan Partridge show
    Sunday 3rd March 2019
  26. Man Like Mobeen gets third series
    Sunday 3rd March 2019
  27. Jennifer Saunders stars in new Mamma Mia! spoof for Comic Relief
    Friday 1st March 2019
  28. Dawn French to star in ITV comedy drama Glass Houses
    Friday 1st March 2019

February 2019

  1. Comedy to be main focus for re-opening North East venue
    Thursday 28th February 2019
  2. BBC Three orders new sitcom from Liam Williams
    Thursday 28th February 2019
  3. BBC orders new sketch show Muzlamic
    Thursday 28th February 2019
  4. Paddy McGuinness and Stacey Solomon join Celebrity Juice
    Wednesday 27th February 2019
  5. Joel Dommett to host ITV2 quiz show 'Hey Tracey!'
    Tuesday 26th February 2019
  6. Chortle Awards 2019 nominees
    Tuesday 26th February 2019
  7. Daniel Sofoluke wins Leicester Mercury Comedian Of The Year 2019
    Sunday 24th February 2019
  8. James Acaster to publish book about obsessive music challenge
    Friday 22nd February 2019
  9. The Goes Wrong Show series coming to BBC One
    Friday 22nd February 2019
  10. Inbetweeners writers announce BBC Two sitcom
    Thursday 21st February 2019
  11. Jack Whitehall announces 2019 tour
    Wednesday 20th February 2019
  12. Timothy West replaces Bernard Cribbins in Dad's Army remakes
    Tuesday 19th February 2019
  13. Steve Pemberton joins Jack Whitehall's Bounty Hunters
    Monday 18th February 2019
  14. Taskmaster Series 8 contestants revealed
    Monday 18th February 2019
  15. Inside No. 9 Series 5 guest stars revealed
    Monday 18th February 2019
  16. Comedy streaming service NextUp to record more specials
    Saturday 16th February 2019
  17. Ardal O'Hanlon to guest star in Derry Girls Series 2
    Friday 15th February 2019
  18. Gareth Williams wins Komedia Bath competition
    Friday 15th February 2019
  19. Paddington to star in Nickelodeon TV series
    Thursday 14th February 2019
  20. Graham Norton and Alan Carr to judge RuPaul's Drag Race UK
    Thursday 14th February 2019
  21. Benedict Cumberbatch joins Good Omens ahead of 31st May launch
    Thursday 14th February 2019
  22. Comedies nominated for Broadcasting Press Guild Awards 2019
    Wednesday 13th February 2019
  23. Network confirms Likely Lads screening event
    Wednesday 13th February 2019
  24. Comedians to watch football for Sky One
    Wednesday 13th February 2019
  25. Colin Leggo wins UK Pun Championships 2019
    Tuesday 12th February 2019
  26. CBBC orders 52 more episodes of Dennis & Gnasher
    Tuesday 12th February 2019
  27. Crackerjack to return, with comedy and sitcom
    Monday 11th February 2019
  28. Cast revealed for Off The Rails comedy film
    Monday 11th February 2019
  29. North West Comedy Awards 2019 winners
    Thursday 7th February 2019
  30. Derry Girls wins at Broadcast Awards
    Thursday 7th February 2019
  31. Future of ITV sitcoms in doubt
    Tuesday 5th February 2019
  32. Grant & Marshall pilot Radio 4 sketch show
    Tuesday 5th February 2019
  33. UKTV prepares depression comedy drama
    Monday 4th February 2019
  34. Bob Mortimer and Paul Whitehouse to publish fishing book
    Monday 4th February 2019
  35. Comedy.co.uk Awards 2018 winners revealed
    Monday 4th February 2019
  36. Iain Stirling to headline BBC Scotland TV launch
    Monday 4th February 2019
  37. ITV to pilot new stand-up format Out There
    Monday 4th February 2019
  38. Ellie Taylor to host new comedy pilot Gagging Order
    Sunday 3rd February 2019
  39. Channel 4 to broadcast The Mr Swallow Show pilot
    Sunday 3rd February 2019
  40. Alan Carr to host panel show pilot about movies
    Sunday 3rd February 2019
  41. Netflix orders more Sex Education
    Friday 1st February 2019
  42. Alison Steadman & Dave Johns star in 23 Walks
    Friday 1st February 2019
  43. Actor Clive Swift dies aged 82
    Friday 1st February 2019
  44. Jeremy Hardy dies, aged 57
    Friday 1st February 2019

January 2019

  1. John Robins announces 2019 tour Hot Shame
    Thursday 31st January 2019
  2. Harry Hill to curate Channel 4 comedy showcase series
    Thursday 31st January 2019
  3. Matt Berry's Year Of The Rabbit casting revealed
    Wednesday 30th January 2019
  4. Famalam Series 2 to debut in the Spring
    Monday 28th January 2019
  5. Tom Allen to host comedy dating show pilot
    Thursday 24th January 2019
  6. Vicki Pepperdine and Joanna Scanlan to star in Old Baggage
    Thursday 24th January 2019
  7. Kristin Scott Thomas and Fiona Shaw join Fleabag Series 2
    Thursday 24th January 2019
  8. Michael Palin to tour new one-man show
    Thursday 24th January 2019
  9. Sky orders two more series of The Russell Howard Hour
    Thursday 24th January 2019
  10. Channel Gold opens vote to discover Britain's Greatest Comedian
    Thursday 24th January 2019
  11. Inside No. 9 Series 5 in production
    Wednesday 23rd January 2019
  12. Baking comedy drama Love Sarah now filming
    Tuesday 22nd January 2019
  13. Mark Bonnar and Jamie Sives to star in new comedy drama Guilt
    Tuesday 22nd January 2019
  14. Leicester Mercury competition to be broadcast on the radio
    Monday 21st January 2019
  15. Comedy.co.uk Awards 2018 shortlist
    Monday 21st January 2019
  16. Windsor Davies dies aged 88
    Saturday 19th January 2019
  17. Missing Likely Lads and Till Death Us Do Part recovered
    Friday 18th January 2019
  18. Mark Watson to host 26 hour live show
    Wednesday 16th January 2019
  19. Romesh's Look Back To The Future to return in 2019
    Wednesday 16th January 2019
  20. Cast revealed for Dad's Army: The Lost Episodes
    Wednesday 16th January 2019
  21. Les Dennis to star in new film Sideshow
    Tuesday 15th January 2019
  22. Stath Lets Flats to return for Series 2
    Tuesday 15th January 2019
  23. Mackenzie Crook and Sarah Kendall win Writers' Guild Awards
    Monday 14th January 2019
  24. Comedy Central orders travel series The Comedy Bus
    Monday 14th January 2019
  25. Sky orders dead cop comedy series Code 404
    Friday 11th January 2019
  26. Matt Berry to star in BBC Two comedy about Brexit
    Wednesday 2nd January 2019