British Comedy Guide 2007 News Archive

Here is a list of all the news stories we published in 2007.

December 2007

  1. News roundup
    Monday 31st December 2007
  2. Catherine Tate accused of racism
    Thursday 27th December 2007
  3. To The Manor Born a Christmas Day ratings triumph
    Thursday 27th December 2007
  4. £48,500 for four candles (or is it fork handles?)
    Friday 21st December 2007
  5. 4oD comedy goes permanently free
    Thursday 20th December 2007
  6. Gervais and Merchant to write 1970s comedy film
    Wednesday 19th December 2007
  7. Jennifer Saunders to be first female Dr Who?
    Tuesday 18th December 2007
  8. Channel Dave the surprise TV hit of the year
    Monday 17th December 2007
  9. Filthy Formby
    Monday 17th December 2007
  10. Dibley biggest comedy in 2007
    Thursday 13th December 2007
  11. Rachel Stevens gets animated for Scottish comedy
    Wednesday 12th December 2007
  12. Museum of Curiosity to open
    Tuesday 11th December 2007
  13. Viewers want Del Boy back for Christmas
    Tuesday 11th December 2007
  14. Broadcast Awards 2008 shortlist revealed
    Monday 10th December 2007
  15. South Bank nominations announced
    Friday 7th December 2007
  16. Stella Street to return via new website
    Thursday 6th December 2007
  17. British Comedy Awards - full results
    Wednesday 5th December 2007
  18. Guests quit Have I Got News For You
    Wednesday 5th December 2007

November 2007

  1. UK writers show support for US strike
    Thursday 29th November 2007
  2. ITV doesn't budge - no Comedy Awards broadcast
    Wednesday 28th November 2007
  3. BBC4 to screen Hancock, Steptoe and Howerd dramas
    Wednesday 28th November 2007
  4. Not Going Out gets third series
    Wednesday 28th November 2007
  5. Catherine Tate stops sketch show
    Monday 26th November 2007
  6. Channel 4 to boost comedy output in 2008
    Wednesday 21st November 2007
  7. Details on the new BBC2 sitcoms for 2008
    Tuesday 20th November 2007
  8. Karen Taylor gets a second series
    Tuesday 20th November 2007
  9. UK shows win International Emmys
    Tuesday 20th November 2007
  10. USA version of Little Britain delayed
    Monday 19th November 2007
  11. Still Game wins Scottish Bafta
    Monday 19th November 2007
  12. Anthony Head to star in Devon based comedy drama
    Thursday 15th November 2007
  13. 'How Not to Live Your Life' gets greenlight
    Thursday 15th November 2007
  14. ITV reveals 2008 comedy line-up
    Thursday 15th November 2007
  15. Langham wins appeal
    Wednesday 14th November 2007
  16. UK comedy writers asked not to break US strike
    Saturday 10th November 2007
  17. Gavin and Stacey leads Comedy Award nominations
    Wednesday 7th November 2007
  18. News Roundup
    Tuesday 6th November 2007
  19. Spaced director Edgar Wright angry at US remake
    Saturday 3rd November 2007
  20. C4 boosts comedy budget and greenlights new shows
    Friday 2nd November 2007
  21. Graham Linehan to nurture new comedy writers
    Thursday 1st November 2007

October 2007

  1. Catherine Tate wins National TV Award for comedy
    Wednesday 31st October 2007
  2. Spaced goes to America
    Tuesday 30th October 2007
  3. More on BBC3's Friday Night Live plans
    Thursday 25th October 2007
  4. News Knight seeking new host
    Thursday 25th October 2007
  5. Lee Evans announces record-breaking tour
    Wednesday 24th October 2007
  6. Absolute Power writer Mark Tavener has died
    Wednesday 24th October 2007
  7. To the Manor Reborn starts filming
    Wednesday 24th October 2007
  8. Kryten launches Red Dwarf competition on YouTube
    Tuesday 23rd October 2007
  9. Producer urges ITV to broadcast Comedy Awards
    Monday 22nd October 2007
  10. News roundup
    Friday 19th October 2007
  11. New movie Stardust in cinemas this week
    Thursday 18th October 2007
  12. Channel Dave to broadcast puppet comedy
    Thursday 18th October 2007
  13. Russell Brand Ponderland preview
    Tuesday 16th October 2007
  14. Bremner's McCann sketch draws complaints
    Tuesday 16th October 2007
  15. Tamsin Greig in Anne Frank drama
    Tuesday 16th October 2007
  16. Oliver and Zaltzman in Times podcast
    Tuesday 16th October 2007
  17. National Television Awards voting now online
    Monday 15th October 2007
  18. Comedy Awards will not be televised
    Friday 12th October 2007
  19. ITV2 commission rejected BBC3 sketch show
    Wednesday 10th October 2007
  20. News roundup
    Tuesday 9th October 2007
  21. Mixed reception for new BBC2 line-up
    Friday 5th October 2007
  22. C4 offering a day on the Shameless set
    Friday 5th October 2007
  23. Extras Christmas special trailer released
    Thursday 4th October 2007
  24. Wallace and Gromit to return to TV
    Wednesday 3rd October 2007
  25. Boosh star appears in Vic and Bob show
    Tuesday 2nd October 2007
  26. Composer Ronnie Hazlehurst dies aged 79
    Tuesday 2nd October 2007
  27. Racial and Religious Hatred Act now in force
    Monday 1st October 2007

September 2007

  1. New BBC Radio 4 podcast feed available
    Saturday 29th September 2007
  2. Over 150 hours of comedy goes free on 4oD
    Friday 28th September 2007
  3. More details on BBC2's Thursdays are Funny
    Friday 28th September 2007
  4. To the Manor Reborn?
    Monday 24th September 2007
  5. 14 new comedies for Channel 4
    Monday 24th September 2007
  6. Comedybox website goes live
    Friday 21st September 2007
  7. Patrick Kielty in trouble for McCann jokes
    Friday 21st September 2007
  8. ITV drops British Comedy Awards
    Friday 21st September 2007
  9. UKTV Gold 2 to be launched on Freeview
    Thursday 20th September 2007
  10. Merton to present more travel shows for Five TV
    Thursday 20th September 2007
  11. C4 offering the chance of 15 minutes of shame
    Thursday 20th September 2007
  12. A Genius TV programme
    Wednesday 19th September 2007
  13. BBC4 to celebrate The Frost Report
    Tuesday 18th September 2007
  14. Ricky Gervais wins Best Comedy Actor Emmy
    Monday 17th September 2007
  15. Tony Hancock subject of BBC Four show
    Sunday 16th September 2007
  16. Jimmy Carr hosts BBC Burp pilot
    Friday 14th September 2007
  17. Alan Carr signs C4 golden handcuffs deal
    Friday 14th September 2007
  18. IN DETAIL: Chris Langham jailed for 10 months
    Friday 14th September 2007
  19. Live At The Apollo recommissioned
    Thursday 13th September 2007
  20. Ricky Gervais to direct his first film
    Thursday 13th September 2007
  21. Steve Coogan contemplating stand-up return
    Wednesday 12th September 2007
  22. Jim Davidson in Hell's Kitchen hot water
    Tuesday 11th September 2007
  23. Trevor McDonald cleared over Manning joke
    Monday 10th September 2007
  24. Tate, Lucas and Walliams .v. Christian posters
    Monday 10th September 2007
  25. Ricky Tomlinson requires quadruple heart bypass
    Monday 10th September 2007
  26. Rugby eats into BBC's Friday night comedy audience
    Monday 10th September 2007
  27. BBC Radio 7 developing new comedy panel game
    Monday 10th September 2007
  28. Ricky Gervais vs. his local paper
    Monday 10th September 2007
  29. Suburban Shootout 2 starts badly
    Friday 7th September 2007
  30. David Schneider directing ITV2 sitcom
    Wednesday 5th September 2007
  31. David Tennant added to Extras guest list
    Wednesday 5th September 2007
  32. My Family wins TV Quick and TV Choice award
    Tuesday 4th September 2007
  33. Dara O'Briain the new Michael Parkinson?
    Tuesday 4th September 2007
  34. Mangan: I've obviously got a face for comedy
    Tuesday 4th September 2007
  35. IT Crowd gains more viewers
    Monday 3rd September 2007

August 2007

  1. ITV1 commissions festive hotel comedy drama film
    Friday 31st August 2007
  2. Vernon Kay in Extras final
    Friday 31st August 2007
  3. Stephen Fry and Matt Lucas making Radio 4 tribute
    Thursday 30th August 2007
  4. Dawn French dumped by Terrys
    Thursday 30th August 2007
  5. Coogan blamed for Owen Wilson's drug spiral
    Thursday 30th August 2007
  6. Outnumbered starts with great ratings
    Wednesday 29th August 2007
  7. Chris Morris and Peep Show writers team up
    Tuesday 28th August 2007
  8. Channel 4's November pilots confirmed
    Thursday 23rd August 2007
  9. Shameless graffiti competition launched
    Wednesday 22nd August 2007
  10. Lucy Davis strips for PETA
    Wednesday 22nd August 2007
  11. Wallace and Gromit clips go online for free
    Wednesday 22nd August 2007
  12. The Abbey gets full series
    Wednesday 22nd August 2007
  13. John Deals TV blog opens
    Tuesday 21st August 2007
  14. VH1 orders Star Stories pilot
    Wednesday 15th August 2007
  15. Monty Python tops most influential comedy poll
    Monday 13th August 2007
  16. Harry Hill to host hidden camera show
    Thursday 9th August 2007
  17. ITV give superhero sitcom the greenlight
    Wednesday 8th August 2007
  18. Worst Week of My Life USA?
    Tuesday 7th August 2007
  19. 'Allo 'Allo star Vicki Michelle in Emmerdale role
    Tuesday 7th August 2007
  20. TVComedyClassics.com launches
    Monday 6th August 2007
  21. 10 new characters for Little Britain USA
    Thursday 2nd August 2007
  22. Chris Langham guilty of downloading child porn
    Thursday 2nd August 2007
  23. Ricky Gervais to star in new Hollywood film
    Wednesday 1st August 2007

July 2007

  1. Mike Reid Dies aged 67
    Monday 30th July 2007
  2. Paul Merton plans ITV improv show
    Friday 27th July 2007
  3. Radio 2 comedy prepares for 40th Anniversary
    Thursday 26th July 2007
  4. Langham: Not guilty
    Thursday 26th July 2007
  5. British Comedy Awards join phone-in scandal list
    Thursday 26th July 2007
  6. Bill Bailey to enter Eurovision
    Saturday 21st July 2007
  7. Gervais and Merchant up for more Emmys
    Thursday 19th July 2007
  8. ITV to make Jilly Cooper comedies
    Thursday 19th July 2007
  9. Comic Relief phone-in scandal
    Wednesday 18th July 2007
  10. Catherine Tate to kill off Lauren
    Wednesday 18th July 2007
  11. Red Dwarf most popular sci-fi show of all time
    Monday 16th July 2007
  12. Fawlty Towers characters resurrected
    Thursday 12th July 2007
  13. BBC1 unveils its autumn comedy series
    Wednesday 11th July 2007
  14. Thick of It star Chris Langham goes on trial today
    Wednesday 11th July 2007
  15. Sitcom stars to appear in Xmas Dr Who
    Tuesday 10th July 2007
  16. Posh and Becks to appear in Extras finale
    Monday 9th July 2007
  17. Vote for the National Television Awards
    Monday 9th July 2007
  18. Comic Industry in Top 100 Media List
    Monday 9th July 2007
  19. BBC2 to get Freezing
    Friday 6th July 2007
  20. A B'Stard of an Illness
    Wednesday 4th July 2007
  21. Catherine Tate to be new Doctor Who companion
    Wednesday 4th July 2007
  22. Russell Brand offends Cardiff district
    Wednesday 4th July 2007
  23. BBC Increase Comedy Funding
    Tuesday 3rd July 2007

June 2007

  1. Ratings update - ITV ditches Tough Gig
    Wednesday 27th June 2007
  2. McDonald versus Manning
    Tuesday 26th June 2007
  3. News Snippets
    Tuesday 26th June 2007
  4. Dibley producer hits back at impartiality report
    Tuesday 19th June 2007
  5. Two new online comedies launched
    Tuesday 19th June 2007
  6. Free tickets available for comedy recordings
    Tuesday 19th June 2007
  7. RDF Media to launch comedy download site
    Tuesday 19th June 2007
  8. Little Britain make Neighbours cameo
    Tuesday 19th June 2007
  9. Bernard Manning to deliver his own obituary
    Monday 18th June 2007
  10. Stealing jokes? Homophobe!
    Friday 15th June 2007
  11. Kris Marshall to star in estate agent comedy
    Monday 11th June 2007
  12. 'The Thick of It' may still run in the USA
    Tuesday 5th June 2007
  13. Simon Amstell writing a sitcom for BBC2
    Tuesday 5th June 2007
  14. Academics claim British comedy "is bigoted"
    Friday 1st June 2007

May 2007

  1. News snippets
    Saturday 26th May 2007
  2. Tate says BAFTAs are unfair
    Saturday 26th May 2007
  3. Royle Family wins BAFTA award
    Sunday 20th May 2007
  4. ITV to make CGI version of Spitting Image
    Thursday 17th May 2007
  5. C4 to run free comedy seminar
    Wednesday 16th May 2007
  6. British Sitcom Guide reveals expansion plans
    Tuesday 15th May 2007
  7. News Snippets
    Tuesday 15th May 2007
  8. Eranu or Uvavu? Shooting Stars may return
    Friday 11th May 2007
  9. Not Going Out wins Golden Rose award
    Wednesday 9th May 2007
  10. Vatican: Terrorist comedian
    Monday 7th May 2007
  11. DVD RSS Feeds
    Friday 4th May 2007
  12. Peep Show to be re-made in America
    Friday 4th May 2007
  13. Baron Cohen in Time 100 list
    Friday 4th May 2007
  14. Roman's Empire crashes in the ratings
    Friday 4th May 2007

April 2007

  1. News snippets
    Thursday 26th April 2007
  2. Mumbai Calling pilot to be shown on ITV
    Wednesday 25th April 2007
  3. Edinburgh Festival on 'Ultimate Experiences' list
    Monday 23rd April 2007
  4. Friday night's ratings a mixed story
    Monday 23rd April 2007
  5. Peter Kay's latest comedy is rubbish - literally
    Monday 23rd April 2007
  6. ITV wants female-led sitcom from Peep Show writers
    Thursday 19th April 2007
  7. BBC to open up its archive
    Wednesday 18th April 2007
  8. E4 commissions its first sitcom - Baggy Trousers
    Wednesday 18th April 2007
  9. Don't Panic! - Dad's Army comes to the Stage
    Wednesday 18th April 2007
  10. BBC Commission Semi-Improvised Sitcom
    Friday 13th April 2007
  11. Friday Night TV Preview
    Thursday 12th April 2007
  12. ITV commission 'Bike Cops' sitcom
    Thursday 12th April 2007
  13. Have I Got News For You: more series and a podcast
    Wednesday 11th April 2007
  14. BAFTA nominations announced
    Wednesday 11th April 2007
  15. After You've Gone gets a second series
    Wednesday 4th April 2007
  16. BBC America dropping classic comedies
    Tuesday 3rd April 2007
  17. News digest
    Tuesday 3rd April 2007

March 2007

  1. BBC3 under fire for repeating Two Pints too often
    Tuesday 27th March 2007
  2. Merchant wants popstar Prince to appear in Extras
    Tuesday 27th March 2007
  3. Brooke-Taylor says TV bosses not taking risks
    Tuesday 27th March 2007
  4. BBC says sorry for After You've Gone swearing
    Monday 26th March 2007
  5. Stephen Merchant slates Channel 4
    Saturday 24th March 2007
  6. Mr Bean... and gone?
    Friday 23rd March 2007
  7. British Press Guild 2007 Awards
    Friday 23rd March 2007
  8. ITV ditches Love Island in favour of more comedy
    Thursday 22nd March 2007
  9. Little Miss Jocelyn gets a second season
    Wednesday 21st March 2007
  10. Channel 4 to broadcast phone-in satire
    Wednesday 21st March 2007
  11. Peep Show gets a 5th series
    Wednesday 21st March 2007
  12. Golden Rose Award Nominations
    Tuesday 20th March 2007
  13. No third series of Extras
    Monday 19th March 2007
  14. Channel Five commissions greasy spoon sitcom
    Saturday 17th March 2007
  15. Comic Relief 2007 Preview - The Big One
    Thursday 15th March 2007
  16. BBC looks to past for new comedy idea
    Thursday 15th March 2007
  17. Royle Family wins Royal Television Society Awards
    Wednesday 14th March 2007
  18. Comedy actor John Inman has died
    Thursday 8th March 2007
  19. Channel 4 announces its spring comedy offerings
    Wednesday 7th March 2007
  20. Channel 4 launches new comedy writing contest
    Wednesday 7th March 2007
  21. Trailer for Magicians released
    Tuesday 6th March 2007
  22. Double Science to be filmed shortly
    Monday 5th March 2007
  23. Nominees for Bafta audience award announced
    Monday 5th March 2007
  24. Six more pilots coming up on BBC3
    Friday 2nd March 2007
  25. BBC launches YouTube channel with exclusive clips
    Friday 2nd March 2007
  26. Benidorm gets a second series
    Thursday 1st March 2007

February 2007

  1. Del Boy's Reliant sells for £44,000
    Wednesday 28th February 2007
  2. Not Going Out will be back for another series
    Monday 26th February 2007
  3. TedFest 07 a success
    Monday 26th February 2007
  4. Royal Television Society Awards announced
    Monday 26th February 2007
  5. Average ratings for Thursday night's comedy
    Friday 23rd February 2007
  6. Football match to decide where Craggy Island is
    Friday 23rd February 2007
  7. ITV in comedy ratings woe
    Friday 16th February 2007
  8. Brookside's Dean Sullivan in sitcom pilot
    Thursday 15th February 2007
  9. Another sitcom from the Two Pints team
    Thursday 15th February 2007
  10. BBC Scotland commissions Legit
    Tuesday 13th February 2007
  11. Benidorm loses viewers
    Friday 9th February 2007
  12. Teenage Kicks to switch to BBC2?
    Friday 9th February 2007
  13. Preview: 'Welcome To Strathmuir' on BBC Scotland
    Wednesday 7th February 2007
  14. Balls of Steel 2 Preview and DVD clip
    Tuesday 6th February 2007
  15. Cheers' Kirstie Alley to be U.S. Vicar of Dibley
    Tuesday 6th February 2007
  16. Benidorm gets off to a great start
    Friday 2nd February 2007

January 2007

  1. Green Wing writers create US pilot comedy
    Tuesday 30th January 2007
  2. Private wedding for Extras star
    Tuesday 30th January 2007
  3. Mitchell and Webb star in Apple adverts
    Tuesday 30th January 2007
  4. Stewart Lee writing sitcom about thunder god
    Tuesday 30th January 2007
  5. Big Brother winner Shilpa offered sitcom role
    Tuesday 30th January 2007
  6. BBC to put comedy on Google Video?
    Monday 22nd January 2007
  7. Father Ted festival row - where is Craggy Island?
    Monday 22nd January 2007
  8. A second series of Nathan Barley?
    Saturday 20th January 2007
  9. Basil Fawlty statue for Torquay
    Saturday 20th January 2007
  10. Another 'Thick of It' special on the way
    Wednesday 17th January 2007
  11. Richard Ayoade to star in U.S. IT Crowd too
    Wednesday 17th January 2007
  12. Corrie puts dent in After You've Gone's debut
    Monday 15th January 2007
  13. BBC3 comedy Pulling gets a second series
    Sunday 14th January 2007
  14. IT Crowd and I'm With Stupid get USA go ahead
    Wednesday 10th January 2007
  15. Shameless Series 4 Preview
    Wednesday 3rd January 2007
  16. Not the end of Dibley after all
    Wednesday 3rd January 2007
  17. The Thick of It struggles on return to BBC Four
    Wednesday 3rd January 2007
  18. Vicar of Dibley ends on high note
    Tuesday 2nd January 2007