Eva Bindeman wins Leicester Mercury Comedian of the Year 2024

Sunday 25th February 2024, 11:08am

Leicester Mercury Comedian of the Year 2024. Eva Bindeman. Credit: Crosscut Media

Eva Bindeman has won the Leicester Mercury Comedian of the Year 2024 competition.

The Bristol based comic from the north east has previously appeared in the BBC New Comedy Awards. She joked in her seven minute set about her anatomy, and takes home the contest's cash prize and trophy.

On winning the prestigious title, she said: "It's shocking and an honour to win Leicester Mercury Comedian of the Year and I'm bloody delighted, especially considering how good everyone was!"

Leicester Mercury Comedian of the Year 2024. Image shows left to right: Fiona Ridgewell, Eva Bindeman, Blank Peng. Credit: Crosscut Media

Blank Peng was named the runner-up, with Fiona Ridgewell third.

The final, hosted by Sindhu Vee, took place last night (24th February) at The Y Theatre as part of the closing weekend of the city's annual comedy festival and featured a set from last year's winner, Daniel Petrie.

The other comics taking part in the contest were Alasdair Wallace, Alex Bertulis-Fernandes, Henry Michael, Julia Stenton and Romina Puma.

Leicester Mercury Comedian of the Year 2024. Image shows left to right: Henry Michael, Fiona Ridgewell, Julia Stenton, Daniel Petrie, Romina Puma, Sindhu Vee, Eva Bindeman, Blank Peng, Alasdair Wallace, Alex Bertulis-Fernandes. Credit: Crosscut Media

Unlike other new act competitions, acts must be nominated for the final by promoters. The contest has a track record of picking out future stars, with Romesh Ranganathan, Josh Widdicombe, Rhod Gilbert, Jason Manford and Johnny Vegas amongst the previous winners.

The judging panel comprised of Georgi Mckie (Gag Reflex), Charlotte Lang (Glastonbury Festival), Mark Boosey (British Comedy Guide), Kitty Singleton (Off The Kerb) and comedian Eshaan Akbar.

The festival's programme director, Charlotte Laidet, says: "Every year we are more and more impressed by the level of talent these new acts showcase, and we are extremely proud to run this competition for the 30th time. Congratulations to Eva Bindeman and to all the acts who participated, I'm sure we will see them all on the circuit for many years."

Below are highlights from the final, and an interview with Bindeman:

Share this page