Extraordinary, Juice, Rob & Romesh and Black Ops win RTS Awards

Wednesday 27th March 2024, 8:57am

The results of the Royal Television Society Awards 2024 have been revealed. The comedy-related winners are...

Scripted Comedy

Extraordinary. Image shows left to right: Carrie (Sofia Oxenham), Jizzlord (Luke Rollason), Jen (Mairead Tyers), Kash (Bilal Hasna). Credit: Joseph Sinclair, Disney+


Selecting the winning show, the judges called it "confident in tone and heavy on the funny - a thrilling piece of work".

Other nominees: Black Ops and Such Brave Girls

Comedy Drama

Juice. Image shows left to right: Jamma (Mawaan Rizwan), Guy (Russell Tovey)


The winning programme, said the judges, "felt unique and very original, packed with both innovation and imagination".

Other nominees: Big Boys, There She Goes

Comedy Entertainment

Rob And Romesh Vs. Image shows from L to R: Rob Beckett, Romesh Ranganathan. Copyright: CPL Productions

Rob And Romesh Vs

The judges called the winning show, "highly entertaining, brilliantly funny - and produced with real care from start to finish".

Other nominees: Taskmaster, The Graham Norton Show

Comedy Performance - Female

Black Ops. Dominique 'Dom' Archibald (Gbemisola Ikumelo)

Gbemisola Ikumelo for Black Ops

"The range, warmth and timing showed off a pure comic talent" said the judges.

Other nominees: Máiréad Tyers (for Extraordinary), Kat Sadler (for Such Brave Girls)

Comedy Performance - Male

Black Ops. Kayode 'Kay' Ogundare (Hammed Animashaun)

Hammed Animashaun for Black Ops

"What a joyous and skillful performance this was," said the judges of the winner.

Other nominees: Freddie Meredith for Such Brave Girls and Jon Pointing for Big Boys

Writer - Comedy

Big Boys. Image shows left to right: Jack (Dylan Llewellyn), Jack Rooke, Danny (Jon Pointing)

Jack Rooke for Big Boys

The judges described this work as "comedically daring and life-affirming in its warmth".

Other nominees: Bridget Christie (for The Change) and Joe Tucker, Lloyd Woolf, Gbemisola Ikumelo & Akemnji Ndifornyen for Black Ops

Elsewhere at the ceremony, which was hosted by Tom Allen, the Outstanding Achievement Award was presented to the renowned producer Stephen Lambert and the Gold Medal was presented to Esther Rantzen. A full list of winners across all genres can be seen on rts.org.uk

Videos from the ceremony are below...



Rob And Romesh Vs

Gbemisola Ikumelo and Hammed Animashaun

Jack Rooke

Share this page