Chortle Awards 2024 results

Monday 4th March 2024, 9:45pm

The results of the Chortle Awards 2024, based on a public vote, have been announced at a live ceremony in London. The winners are:


Paddy Young

Paddy Young

Other nominees: Joe Kent-Walters; John Tothill; Kate Cheka; Kyrah Gray

Breakthrough Act

Sam Campbell

Sam Campbell

Other nominees: Ahir Shah; Amy Gledhill; Ania Magliano; Julia Masli

Sketch, Variety or Improv

Lorna Rose Treen

Lorna Rose Treen

Other nominees: Foxdog Studios; Julia Masli; Lachlan Werner; Simon David

Club Comedian

Kiri Pritchard-McLean

Kiri Pritchard-McLean

Other nominees: Christopher MacArthur-Boyd; Dan Tiernan; Slim; Susie McCabe


Live From Barry Island. Kiri Pritchard-McLean

Kiri Pritchard-McLean

Other nominees: Ian Smith; Sam Nicoresti; Sikisa

Best Show

John Kearns. Copyright: Rah Petherbridge

John Kearns: The Varnishing Days

Other nominees: Ahir Shah: Ends; Ian Smith: Crushing; Julia Masli: ha ha ha ha ha ha ha; Paul Foot: Dissolve


James Acaster

James Acaster: Hecklers Welcome

Other nominees: Ed Byrne: Tragedy Plus Time; Brian Butterfield: Placeholder Name Tour; Nick Mohammed Presents The Very Best & Worst Of Mr. Swallow; Sara Pascoe: Success Story

TV Show

Taskmaster. Image shows from L to R: Greg Davies, Alex Horne. Copyright: Avalon Television


Other nominees: A Whole Lifetime With Jamie Demetriou, Ghosts, Such Brave Girls, The Change

TV Comic

Joe Lycett's Got Your Back. Joe Lycett

Joe Lycett

Other nominees: Lucy Beaumont, Rosie Jones, Sam Campbell

Radio Show

Image shows from L to R: John Robins, Elis James. Copyright: BBC

Elis James & John Robins

Other nominees: Crybabies Present... Bagbeard; Jessica Fostekew: Sturdy Girls Club; Olga Koch: OK Computer; Sarah Keyworth - Are You A Boy Or A Girl?

Best Podcast

Three Bean Salad

Three Bean Salad with Mike Wozniak, Ben Partridge and Henry Paker

Other nominees: Born Yesterday with Alexander Bennett and Andy Barr; Enjoy An Album with Liam Withnail & Christopher Macarthur-Boyd; Northern News with Amy Gledhill & Ian Smith; Where There's A Will There's A Wake with Kathy Burke

Social Media Award

Munya Chawawa

Munya Chawawa

Other nominees: Ed Night & Paddy Young; Jazz Emu; Rosie Holt; Troy Hawke

Book Award

Fern Brady. Copyright: James Robertson

Strong Female Character by Fern Brady

Other nominees: My Lady Parts: A Life Fighting Stereotypes by Doon Mackichan; Scatter Brain by Shaparak Khorsandi; What's That Lady Doing? by Lou Sanders

Outstanding Achievement

Taskmaster. Alex Horne. Copyright: Avalon Television

Alex Horne and Taskmaster

This award was given for Taskmaster's "enduring success over 16 series and seven specials, and for raising the profile of so many comics who might not otherwise fit the panel show mould".

Event of the Year

Viggo Venn

Viggo Venn wins Britain's Got Talent

Offstage Contribution

Adam Brace

Adam Brace

Brace - an award-winning stand-up director and writer - died in May 2023, aged 43.

Comedians' Comedian

Sam Campbell

Sam Campbell

The winners in the venue categories were previously announced on Friday, with trophies going to Big Belly (Vauxhall), Frog & Bucket (Manchester), The Forge (Brighton), Glee (Birmingham & Cardiff), Monkey Barrel (Edinburgh), 99 Club (London), XS Malarkey (Manchester), Little Smash (Southend), White Bear Comedy Club (Bristol), Spandex Comedy Club (Edinburgh), Quantum Leopard (London), Down The Hatch Comedy Club (Brighton), People's Comedy (Bristol), Comedy Bandits (London), Comic Boom (Brighton), Beat The Frog (Manchester) and Open Comedy (Leith).

Share this page