British Comedy Guide 2009 News Archive

Here is a list of all the news stories we published in 2009.

December 2009

  1. Adam and Joe to quit BBC 6 Music?
    Wednesday 23rd December 2009
  2. Frankie Boyle will not be replaced on Mock the Week
    Wednesday 23rd December 2009
  3. American network NBC orders How Not To Live Your Life pilot
    Wednesday 23rd December 2009
  4. Michael McIntyre's Comedy Roadshow most watched comedy on iPlayer
    Wednesday 23rd December 2009
  5. E4 orders second series of Misfits
    Thursday 17th December 2009
  6. Not Going Out is back from the dead
    Tuesday 15th December 2009
  7. Jongleurs clubs to be re-launched as 'Highlight'
    Tuesday 15th December 2009
  8. Miranda gets a second series
    Tuesday 15th December 2009
  9. Bad Christmas sales for comedians' books, but DVDs selling well
    Monday 14th December 2009
  10. British Comedy Awards 2009 - Results
    Saturday 12th December 2009
  11. Early release of Gavin & Stacey DVDs causes a row
    Tuesday 8th December 2009
  12. 2010 Loaded LAFTAS shortlist announced
    Wednesday 2nd December 2009

November 2009

  1. Broadcast Awards shortlist announced
    Thursday 26th November 2009
  2. BBC's Comedy College lands first commission
    Wednesday 18th November 2009
  3. 2009 British Comedy Award nominations
    Wednesday 18th November 2009
  4. Peter Kay to return to stand-up
    Saturday 14th November 2009
  5. Little Britain stars writing new comedy
    Friday 13th November 2009
  6. More details on Catherine Tate Show Christmas special
    Thursday 12th November 2009
  7. How Not To Live Your Life recommissioned
    Monday 2nd November 2009

October 2009

  1. Red Dwarf S10 for Dave
    Sunday 11th October 2009
  2. Brand new Dwarf
    Saturday 10th October 2009

September 2009

  1. America to pilot HIGNFY
    Sunday 20th September 2009
  2. My Family suffers budget cut
    Thursday 17th September 2009
  3. Movie version of The Inbetweeners in production
    Tuesday 8th September 2009
  4. CBBC order 3rd series of 'Got No Head' and a sitcom spin-off
    Thursday 3rd September 2009
  5. BBC1 to pilot new topical comedy show
    Tuesday 1st September 2009

August 2009

  1. Tim Key wins 2009 Edinburgh Comedy Award
    Saturday 29th August 2009
  2. Channel Five quits on comedy
    Friday 28th August 2009
  3. Cheryl Taylor named new BBC Comedy Commissioner
    Thursday 27th August 2009
  4. Edinburgh Comedy Awards shortlist announced
    Wednesday 26th August 2009
  5. Angus Deayton to return for HIGNFY anniversary special?
    Wednesday 19th August 2009
  6. 3rd series for Armstrong and Miller confirmed
    Thursday 13th August 2009
  7. C4 reveals viewers complained of Michael Jackson jokes
    Thursday 6th August 2009

July 2009

  1. Mark Watson to host new football-based panel show for 5 Live
    Tuesday 21st July 2009
  2. Frankie Boyle launches podcast
    Thursday 16th July 2009
  3. Veteran comedy writer Vince Powell dies
    Monday 13th July 2009
  4. Fry, Iannucci, Mitchell and Ross in MediaGuardian 100
    Monday 13th July 2009
  5. BBC1 announces autumn line-up: full details
    Thursday 9th July 2009
  6. Dave signs repeat deal with Channel 4
    Thursday 9th July 2009
  7. BFI to celebrate career of Tommy Trinder
    Tuesday 7th July 2009

June 2009

  1. Frankie Boyle to quit in two years
    Tuesday 30th June 2009
  2. Charlie Brooker's Gameswipe commissioned
    Tuesday 23rd June 2009
  3. Pozzitive Productions launch new website
    Monday 1st June 2009

May 2009

  1. Shearsmith: 'Psychoville our best work yet'
    Thursday 28th May 2009
  2. Dean Hardman wins The Sitcom Trials 2009
    Thursday 14th May 2009
  3. Viewers complain about Russ Abbot in Last Of The Summer Wine
    Monday 11th May 2009
  4. Worst Week Of My Life goes French
    Wednesday 6th May 2009
  5. My Family wins Rose D'Or award
    Wednesday 6th May 2009
  6. Mark Watson to front Magners ad campaign
    Friday 1st May 2009

April 2009

  1. Flanimals by Ricky Gervais going to Hollywood
    Wednesday 29th April 2009
  2. Russell Brand to star in re-make of flop movie
    Wednesday 29th April 2009
  3. That Mitchell and Webb Look re-commissioned
    Tuesday 28th April 2009
  4. Reggie Perrin scores 5m viewers
    Monday 27th April 2009
  5. The Thick Of It USA back on cards
    Friday 24th April 2009
  6. BBC Two announces Summer 09 schedule
    Wednesday 22nd April 2009
  7. BBC America buys Inbetweeners and Katy Brand Show
    Wednesday 22nd April 2009
  8. The Comedy Store to open in India
    Tuesday 21st April 2009
  9. New Jonathan Creek special next Easter
    Monday 20th April 2009
  10. BBC Comedy's Mark Freeland attempts to defend Horne & Corden
    Sunday 19th April 2009