Siobhan Dodd wins Not So New Comedian Of The Year 2024

Friday 7th June 2024, 11:59pm

Siobhan Dodd

Siobhan Dodd has won the Not So New Comedian Of The Year competition.

Her high-energy set touched upon topics including being a mother, turning 40, and her work a sign language interpreter. Upon hearing she was a winner, she let out some expletives, before commenting "this is amazing, I don't win things".

The live final took place tonight (7th June) at London's Museum Of Comedy, with Tony Dunn as host and a headline set from last year's winner, Pete Teckman. Each act was given five minutes on stage.

The judges picked Richard Stott as runner-up with Ian Thomson coming third.

Not So New Comedian Of The Year 2024 competition. Image shows left to right: Ian Thomson, Siobhan Dodd, Richard Stott

Aside from the prestige of winning, Dodd picked up a random pigeon-themed trophy and £250. Second place was awarded £100, with £50 for third position.

Unlike new act competitions, this competition - as the title may suggest - is aimed at acts who have been gigging for a while but have yet to have a big break. The competition's blurb explains: "Forget cheery optimism and skinny jeans. At last, a competition for comics who've been around long enough to know better. Expect a high standard and a hint of world weary cynicism as 100 not so new acts compete for the title of Not So New Comedian of the Year. The old ones are the best!"

The other finalists were Samantha Day, Daniel Crewe (as Danny Matinee), Georgia Thorp, JB Carter, Kelly Ford, Daniel Ruiz Tizon, Leigh White, Vix Leyton and LJ Francis.

Share this page