The Liver Birds. Image shows from L to R: Beryl Hennessey (Polly James), Sandra Hutchinson (Nerys Hughes). Copyright: BBC.

The Liver Birds

BBC One sitcom about two young women. 86 episodes (pilot + 10 series), 1969 - 1996. Stars Nerys Hughes, Polly James, Elizabeth Estensen, Pauline Collins and others.

Series 3, Episode 7 - The Christening

Gloria and her husband invite both Beryl and Sandra to be godmothers to their new baby - if they can decide on a name ahead of the Christening! When Beryl discovers the baby is to be baptised Protestant rather than Catholic however, she refuses.

Broadcast details

Friday 24th March 1972
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Nerys Hughes Sandra Hutchinson
Polly James Beryl Hennessey
Mollie Sugden Mrs. Hutchinson
Sheila Fay Mrs. Hennessey
Guest cast
Paula Wilcox Gloria
John Quayle Vicar
Sam Kelly Ernie
Writing team
Carla Lane Writer
John Chapman Script Editor
Production team
Sydney Lotterby Director
Sydney Lotterby Producer
Ronnie Hazlehurst Composer
Peter Brachacki Production Designer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • Broadcast details of 11 further repeats of this episode

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?