The Liver Birds. Image shows from L to R: Beryl Hennessey (Polly James), Sandra Hutchinson (Nerys Hughes). Copyright: BBC.

The Liver Birds

BBC One sitcom about two young women. 86 episodes (pilot + 10 series), 1969 - 1996. Stars Nerys Hughes, Polly James, Elizabeth Estensen, Pauline Collins and others.

Series 3, Episode 5 - Fella-A-Day Girl

Unlike Sandra, Beryl doesn't much fancy a steady boyfriend: she's a fella-a-day kind of girl. That is until London-based Robert calls to say he's coming back up to Liverpool on business. A chance to finish what they never quite got started previously? Not if her heavily pregnant sister Gloria, whose husband is himself away with work, has anything to do with it.

Broadcast details

Friday 10th March 1972
30 minutes


    Cast & crew

    Regular cast
    Nerys Hughes Sandra Hutchinson
    Polly James Beryl Hennessey
    John Nettles Paul
    Sheila Fay Mrs. Hennessey
    Guest cast
    Paula Wilcox Gloria
    Colin Bell Robert
    Writing team
    Carla Lane Writer
    John Chapman Script Editor
    Production team
    Sydney Lotterby Director
    Sydney Lotterby Producer
    Peter Pitt Editor
    Ronnie Hazlehurst Composer
    Peter Brachacki Production Designer

    Supporters and subscribers get more

    Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

    • Broadcast details of 12 past repeats of this episode

    Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

    Already a donor or Pro user?