The Liver Birds. Image shows from L to R: Beryl Hennessey (Polly James), Sandra Hutchinson (Nerys Hughes). Copyright: BBC.

The Liver Birds

BBC One sitcom about two young women. 86 episodes (pilot + 10 series), 1969 - 1996. Stars Nerys Hughes, Polly James, Elizabeth Estensen, Pauline Collins and others.

Series 3, Episode 1 - One's A Crowd

Moving into a far more comfortable flat in a nicer part of the city, Beryl and Sandra immediately come across nosy neighbour Mrs Knowsley, who's petitioning to have an apparently troublesome fellow tenant evicted.

Broadcast details

Friday 11th February 1972
30 minutes


    Cast & crew

    Regular cast
    Nerys Hughes Sandra Hutchinson
    Polly James Beryl Hennessey
    Guest cast
    Joyce Grant Mrs. Knowsley
    Neville Aurelius Neville
    Patrick Durkin First Removal Man
    Frederick Bennett Old Removal Man
    Horace James Landlord
    Patti Brooks Secretary
    Maxine Casson Girl in Pub
    John Lyons Neville's Friend
    Ricky Peebles Neville's Friend
    Roger McGough Self
    John Megginson Self
    Alan Peters Self
    Writing team
    Carla Lane Writer
    John Chapman Script Editor
    Production team
    Douglas Argent Director
    Sydney Lotterby Producer
    Ronnie Hazlehurst Composer
    Anna Ridley Production Designer

    Supporters and subscribers get more

    Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

    • Broadcast details of 14 past repeats of this episode

    Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

    Already a donor or Pro user?