The Liver Birds. Image shows from L to R: Beryl Hennessey (Polly James), Sandra Hutchinson (Nerys Hughes). Copyright: BBC
The Liver Birds

The Liver Birds

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 1969 - 1996
  • 86 episodes (10 series)

Sitcom exploring the lives and loves of two young, single females sharing a flat together in Liverpool. Stars Nerys Hughes, Polly James, Elizabeth Estensen, Pauline Collins, Mollie Sugden and more.

Key cast & crew credits

Nerys Hughes Sandra Hutchinson (Series 2-10)
Polly James Beryl Hennessey (Series 1-4 & 10)
Elizabeth Estensen Carol Boswell (Series 5-9)
Pauline Collins Dawn (Series 1)
Mollie Sugden Mrs. Hutchinson (Series 2-10)
Michael Angelis Lucian (Series 5-10)
John Nettles Paul (Series 3-6)
Eileen Kennally Mrs. Boswell (Series 5-7)
Ray Dunbobbin (as Ray Dundobbin) Mr. Boswell (Series 5-9)
Jack Le White Grandad (Series 5-9)
Carmel McSharry Mrs. Boswell (Series 8-9)
Tom Chadbon Derek Paynton (Series 8-9)
Ivan Beavis Henry Hutchinson (Series 4)
William Moore Mr. Hutchinson (Series 8)
Sheila Fay Mrs. Hennessey (Series 2-4)
Jonathan Lynn Robert (Series 4)
Geoffrey Leesley Rex (Series 10)
Lee Oakes Gwyn (Series 10)
Carmel McSharry Mrs Hennessey (Series 10)
Writing team
Carla Lane Writer (Series 1-10)
Myra Taylor Writer (Series 1-2)
Lew Schwarz Writer (Series 1-2)
John Chapman Script Editor (Series 2-4)
Eric Idle Script Editor (Series 2)
Production team
Sydney Lotterby Director (Series 1-5)
Angie De Chastelai Smith (as Angela de Chastelai Smith) Director (Series 10)
Douglas Argent Producer (Series 3 & 5-7)
Roger Race Producer (Series 8-9)
Sydney Lotterby Producer (Series 1-5)
Philip Kampff Producer (Series 10)
Carla Lane Executive Producer (Series 10)
Geoffrey Perkins Executive Producer (Series 10)
Mark Lawrence Editor (Series 10)
Ian Rawnsley Production Designer (Series 7)
Marjorie Pratt Production Designer (Series 9)
Allan Anson Production Designer (Series 1-2)
Tim Gleeson Production Designer (Series 5)
John Asbridge Production Designer (Series 10)
Judy Loe Casting Director (Series 10)
Yves Barre Costume Designer (Series 10)
Diane Chenery-Wickens (as Diane Wickens) Make-up Designer (Series 10)
Graham Rimmington Lighting Designer (Series 10)
Ronnie Hazlehurst Composer (Series 1-4)
Andy Carroll Graphics (Series 10)
Carla Lane Creator (Series 1-10)
Myra Taylor Creator (Series 1-10)

Share this page