The Liver Birds. Image shows from L to R: Beryl Hennessey (Polly James), Sandra Hutchinson (Nerys Hughes). Copyright: BBC
The Liver Birds

The Liver Birds

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 1969 - 1996
  • 86 episodes (10 series)

Sitcom exploring the lives and loves of two young, single females sharing a flat together in Liverpool. Stars Nerys Hughes, Polly James, Elizabeth Estensen, Pauline Collins, Mollie Sugden and more.

Episode menu

Series 3, Episode 9 - St Valentine's Day

Beryl's depressed at her lack of a stable love life, and with Valentine's Day on the horizon it could get a whole lot worse - or a lot better! Sandra mentions her situation at work, and it seems half the men there do in fact fancy Beryl!

Broadcast details

Friday 7th April 1972
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Wednesday 5th October 2011 8:00am Gold
Thursday 6th October 2011 6:30am Gold
Tuesday 14th February 2012 6:30am Gold
Tuesday 14th February 2012 8:40am Gold
Wednesday 30th May 2012 9:00am Gold
Thursday 31st May 2012 6:30am Gold
Friday 26th October 2012 7:40am Gold
Saturday 27th October 2012 6:00am Gold
Thursday 17th January 2013 8:20am Gold
Friday 18th January 2013 6:30am Gold
Wednesday 5th November 2014 1:00pm Drama
Wednesday 5th November 2014 6:00pm Drama

Cast & crew

Nerys Hughes Sandra Hutchinson
Polly James Beryl Hennessey
Guest cast
Tenniel Evans Doctor
Diana Davies Jenny
David Simeon Tony
Bill Lyons Andrew
Larry Martyn Waiter
Michael Stainton Manager
Pamela Cundell Lady (Cuthbert's Mother)
Keith Chegwin Cuthbert (Boy)
Hilary Martin Receptionist
Michael Howarth Robin
John Dunbar Mr. Turner
Writing team
Carla Lane Writer
John Chapman Script Editor
Production team
Sydney Lotterby Director
Sydney Lotterby Producer
Ronnie Hazlehurst Composer
Peter Brachacki Production Designer

Share this page