The Liver Birds. Image shows from L to R: Beryl Hennessey (Polly James), Sandra Hutchinson (Nerys Hughes). Copyright: BBC
The Liver Birds

The Liver Birds

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 1969 - 1996
  • 86 episodes (10 series)

Sitcom exploring the lives and loves of two young, single females sharing a flat together in Liverpool. Stars Nerys Hughes, Polly James, Elizabeth Estensen, Pauline Collins, Mollie Sugden and more.

Episode menu

Series 5, Episode 1 - It Takes All Kinds

Now that Beryl has gone, Sandra has to find a new flatmate. She's had plenty of offers but only one stands out as being unacceptable - and that's Carol!

Broadcast details

Friday 5th September 1975
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Sunday 23rd October 2011 7:30am Gold
Monday 24th October 2011 6:30am Gold
Friday 9th March 2012 6:30am Gold
Friday 9th March 2012 8:40am Gold
Wednesday 20th June 2012 8:20am Gold
Thursday 21st June 2012 6:30am Gold
Thursday 15th November 2012 7:40am Gold
Friday 16th November 2012 6:00am Gold
Tuesday 29th January 2013 6:00am Gold
Monday 1st December 2014 1:00pm Drama

Cast & crew

Nerys Hughes Sandra Hutchinson
Elizabeth Estensen Carol Boswell
Mollie Sugden Thelma Hutchinson
John Nettles Paul
Guest cast
Linda James Fiona Phillips
Writing team
Carla Lane Writer
Production team
Ray Butt Director
Sydney Lotterby Producer
Nigel Curzon Production Designer

Share this page