The Liver Birds. Image shows from L to R: Beryl Hennessey (Polly James), Sandra Hutchinson (Nerys Hughes). Copyright: BBC.

The Liver Birds

BBC One sitcom about two young women. 86 episodes (pilot + 10 series), 1969 - 1996. Stars Nerys Hughes, Polly James, Elizabeth Estensen, Pauline Collins and others.

Series 5

1. It Takes All Kinds

First broadcast: Friday 5th September 1975

Now that Beryl has gone, Sandra has to find a new flatmate. She's had plenty of offers but only one stands out as being unacceptable - and that's Carol!


2. Look After The Children ...

First broadcast: Friday 12th September 1975

Sandra has managed to convince Carol that her parents are the ideal couple and so she is aghast when she hears that her mother has gone missing!


3. You've Got To Laugh

First broadcast: Friday 19th September 1975

Carol is determined to take Sandra's mind of her worries, but her best efforts are undermined by her Uncle Billy (deceased)


4. Love Is A Many Stupid Thing

First broadcast: Friday 26th September 1975

Love & peace between man & beast is Sandra's new cause. But love & peace between man & Sandra causes trouble for The Liver Birds.


5. Dinner For Three

First broadcast: Friday 3rd October 1975

Sandra finds herself dealing with the problems of other people - especially when it comes to boyfriends and mothers!


6. The Lily And The Dandelion

First broadcast: Friday 10th October 1975

Sandra and Carol have a disagreement - Sandra wants to preserve all of God's little creatures but Carol is more interested in preserving herself. The bigger question appears to be how to preserve their friendship!


7. Everybody Is Beautiful

First broadcast: Friday 17th October 1975

The local beauty contest is getting a lot of attention but Sandra and Carol discover that you don't have to win to be a winner!


Christmas Special: In Every Street

First broadcast: Tuesday 23rd December 1975

Christmas special with Sandra and Carol.