The Liver Birds. Image shows from L to R: Beryl Hennessey (Polly James), Sandra Hutchinson (Nerys Hughes). Copyright: BBC
The Liver Birds

The Liver Birds

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 1969 - 1996
  • 86 episodes (10 series)

Sitcom exploring the lives and loves of two young, single females sharing a flat together in Liverpool. Stars Nerys Hughes, Polly James, Elizabeth Estensen, Pauline Collins, Mollie Sugden and more.

Episode menu

Series 10, Episode 1

Beryl and Sandra bump into each other at a slimming class, but it isn't until Sandra and her mother advertise for a tenant to share their house that Beryl turns up on the doorstep and history begins to repeat itself. Now they're back together, bruised by what life has offered them and refusing to admit to middle age.


Lucian is spelled "Lucien" on the credits of this series, and "Hennessey" is spelled without the second 's'.

Broadcast details

Monday 6th May 1996
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Nerys Hughes Sandra Hutchinson
Polly James Beryl Hennessey
Mollie Sugden Thelma Hutchinson
Michael Angelis Lucian
Geoffrey Leesley Rex
Lee Oakes Gwyn
Guest cast
Beverley Hills Slim Line Instructor
James Gallagher (as Jimmy Gallagher) Removal Man
Josh Moran Removal Man
Writing team
Carla Lane Writer
Production team
Angie De Chastelai Smith (as Angela de Chastelai Smith) Director
Philip Kampff Producer
Carla Lane Executive Producer
Geoffrey Perkins Executive Producer
Mark Lawrence Editor
John Asbridge Production Designer
Judy Loe Casting Director
Yves Barre Costume Designer
Diane Chenery-Wickens (as Diane Wickens) Make-up Designer
Graham Rimmington Lighting Designer
Andy Carroll Graphics

Share this page