The Liver Birds. Image shows from L to R: Beryl Hennessey (Polly James), Sandra Hutchinson (Nerys Hughes). Copyright: BBC
The Liver Birds

The Liver Birds

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 1969 - 1996
  • 86 episodes (10 series)

Sitcom exploring the lives and loves of two young, single females sharing a flat together in Liverpool. Stars Nerys Hughes, Polly James, Elizabeth Estensen, Pauline Collins, Mollie Sugden and more.

The Liver Birds trivia

Elizabeth Estensen was recommended for the role of Carol when her co-star to be,Nerys Hughes, saw her performing in the stage production of John, Paul, George, Ringo ... and Bert. She persuaded producer Sydney Lotterby to go and see her ...

Source: Radio Times Aug 28th 1975

Share this page