The Liver Birds. Image shows from L to R: Beryl Hennessey (Polly James), Sandra Hutchinson (Nerys Hughes). Copyright: BBC
The Liver Birds

The Liver Birds

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 1969 - 1996
  • 86 episodes (10 series)

Sitcom exploring the lives and loves of two young, single females sharing a flat together in Liverpool. Stars Nerys Hughes, Polly James, Elizabeth Estensen, Pauline Collins, Mollie Sugden and more.

Episode menu

Series 2, Episode 1 - The Wedding

Beryl's sister, Gloria, is due to get married. Beryl's none too pleased with her bridesmaid's dress, but when both Gloria and her fiancé, Ernie, decide to call it off, she changes her tune.

Broadcast details

Thursday 7th January 1971
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Monday 19th September 2011 8:20am Gold
Tuesday 20th September 2011 6:30am Gold
Tuesday 17th January 2012 6:30am Gold
Tuesday 17th January 2012 9:20am Gold
Monday 23rd January 2012 6:30am Gold
Monday 23rd January 2012 9:20am Gold
Friday 4th May 2012 6:30am Gold
Friday 4th May 2012 9:00am Gold
Monday 7th May 2012 7:40am Gold
Tuesday 8th May 2012 6:30am Gold
Friday 11th May 2012 9:00am Gold
Saturday 12th May 2012 6:20am Gold
Wednesday 3rd October 2012 7:40am Gold
Thursday 4th October 2012 6:00am Gold
Monday 8th October 2012 7:40am Gold
Tuesday 9th October 2012 6:00am Gold
Wednesday 2nd January 2013 8:20am Gold
Thursday 3rd January 2013 6:30am Gold
Wednesday 8th October 2014 1:00pm Drama
Wednesday 8th October 2014 6:00pm Drama
Tuesday 14th October 2014 1:00pm Drama
Tuesday 14th October 2014 6:00pm Drama

Cast & crew

Nerys Hughes Sandra Hutchinson
Polly James Beryl Hennessey
Sheila Fay Ethel Hennessey
Guest cast
Cyril Shaps Mr. Hennessey
Paula Wilcox Gloria (Beryl's Sister)
Barrie Rutter Ernie (Gloria's Fiancé)
P.G. Stephens Priest
Chris Gannon Photographer
Writing team
Carla Lane Writer
Myra Taylor Writer
Eric Idle Script Editor
Production team
Sydney Lotterby Director
Sydney Lotterby Producer
Chris Wimble Editor
Ronnie Hazlehurst Composer
David Spode Production Designer

Share this page