The Liver Birds. Image shows from L to R: Beryl Hennessey (Polly James), Sandra Hutchinson (Nerys Hughes). Copyright: BBC
The Liver Birds

The Liver Birds

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 1969 - 1996
  • 86 episodes (10 series)

Sitcom exploring the lives and loves of two young, single females sharing a flat together in Liverpool. Stars Nerys Hughes, Polly James, Elizabeth Estensen, Pauline Collins, Mollie Sugden and more.

Episode menu

Series 2, Episode 2 - Look Before You Leap

Sandra's particularly depressed, having apparently been stood up by boyfriend Peter. Worried she'll do something silly, Beryl runs around trying to make ammends, but soon comes to her own conclusion about Peter's motives.

Broadcast details

Thursday 14th January 1971
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Friday 20th January 2012 6:30am Gold
Friday 20th January 2012 9:20am Gold

Cast & crew

Nerys Hughes Sandra Hutchinson
Polly James Beryl Hennessey
Guest cast
Derek Fowlds Peter (Sandra's Boyfriend)
Bunny May Steve (Married Man Seeing Beryl)
Matthew Roberton Salesman
Frank Abbott Ron (Steve's Friend)
Writing team
Carla Lane Writer
Myra Taylor Writer
Eric Idle Script Editor
Production team
Sydney Lotterby Director
Sydney Lotterby Producer
Allan Anson Production Designer
Ronnie Hazlehurst Composer

Share this page