The Liver Birds. Image shows from L to R: Beryl Hennessey (Polly James), Sandra Hutchinson (Nerys Hughes). Copyright: BBC
The Liver Birds

The Liver Birds

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 1969 - 1996
  • 86 episodes (10 series)

Sitcom exploring the lives and loves of two young, single females sharing a flat together in Liverpool. Stars Nerys Hughes, Polly James, Elizabeth Estensen, Pauline Collins, Mollie Sugden and more.

Episode menu

Series 2, Episode 8 - The Flat

Facing another major row, the girls realise they need their own private spaces and stumble across a far nicer flat advertised in the paper. Can they really afford it?


This episode is also known as Delivery Man.

Broadcast details

Thursday 25th February 1971
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Thursday 22nd September 2011 8:20am Gold
Friday 23rd September 2011 6:30am Gold
Thursday 26th January 2012 6:30am Gold
Thursday 26th January 2012 9:20am Gold
Thursday 10th May 2012 9:00am Gold
Friday 11th May 2012 6:30am Gold
Tuesday 15th May 2012 9:00am Gold
Wednesday 16th May 2012 6:30am Gold
Monday 24th December 2012 7:40am Gold
Friday 17th October 2014 1:00pm Drama
Friday 17th October 2014 6:00pm Drama

Cast & crew

Nerys Hughes Sandra Hutchinson
Polly James Beryl Hennessey
Guest cast
Ken Platt Delivery Man
Nicholas Smith Brian
Patricia Shakesby Jean
Veronica Doran Betty
Valerie St. John Blonde Girl
Writing team
Carla Lane Writer
Myra Taylor Writer
Lew Schwarz Writer
Eric Idle Script Editor
Production team
Sydney Lotterby Director
Sydney Lotterby Producer
Ronnie Hazlehurst Composer
David Spode Production Designer

Share this page