The Liver Birds. Image shows from L to R: Beryl Hennessey (Polly James), Sandra Hutchinson (Nerys Hughes). Copyright: BBC
The Liver Birds

The Liver Birds

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 1969 - 1996
  • 86 episodes (10 series)

Sitcom exploring the lives and loves of two young, single females sharing a flat together in Liverpool. Stars Nerys Hughes, Polly James, Elizabeth Estensen, Pauline Collins, Mollie Sugden and more.

Episode menu

Series 4, Episode 1 - Anybody Here Seen Thingy?

It's Beryl's birthday, and she's not entirely enamoured to receive a hamster - but quickly changes her mind upon discovering it is pregnant!

Broadcast details

Wednesday 2nd January 1974
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Monday 10th October 2011 8:40am Gold
Tuesday 11th October 2011 6:30am Gold
Tuesday 21st February 2012 6:30am Gold
Tuesday 21st February 2012 8:40am Gold
Wednesday 6th June 2012 6:30am Gold
Thursday 1st November 2012 7:20am Gold
Friday 2nd November 2012 6:00am Gold
Tuesday 22nd January 2013 6:30am Gold
Wednesday 23rd January 2013 2:30am Gold
Wednesday 12th November 2014 1:00pm Drama
Wednesday 12th November 2014 6:00pm Drama

Cast & crew

Nerys Hughes Sandra Hutchinson
Polly James Beryl Hennessey
Mollie Sugden Thelma Hutchinson
Sheila Fay Ethel Hennessey
Guest cast
Bill Lyons Party Guest
Elissa Derwent Party Guest
Susan Littler Party Guest
Roy Denton Caretaker
Writing team
Carla Lane Writer
John Chapman Script Editor
Production team
Sydney Lotterby Director
Sydney Lotterby Producer
Ray Millichope Editor
Ronnie Hazlehurst Composer
Anna Ridley Production Designer

Share this page