The Liver Birds. Image shows from L to R: Beryl Hennessey (Polly James), Sandra Hutchinson (Nerys Hughes). Copyright: BBC.

The Liver Birds

BBC One sitcom about two young women. 86 episodes (pilot + 10 series), 1969 - 1996. Stars Nerys Hughes, Polly James, Elizabeth Estensen, Pauline Collins and others.

Series 4, Episode 3 - Life Is Just A Bowl Of Sugar

In an attempt to get Paul to propose to her, Sandra starts making a nest worthy of a married couple - unfortunately her parents ruin the atmosphere ...

Broadcast details

Wednesday 16th January 1974
30 minutes


    Cast & crew

    Regular cast
    Nerys Hughes Sandra Hutchinson
    Polly James Beryl Hennessey
    Mollie Sugden Mrs. Hutchinson
    John Nettles Paul
    Ivan Beavis Mr. Hutchinson
    Writing team
    Carla Lane Writer
    Production team
    Ray Butt Director
    Sydney Lotterby Producer
    Anna Ridley Production Designer

    Supporters and subscribers get more

    Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

    • Broadcast details of 12 past repeats of this episode

    Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

    Already a donor or Pro user?