The Liver Birds. Image shows from L to R: Beryl Hennessey (Polly James), Sandra Hutchinson (Nerys Hughes). Copyright: BBC.

The Liver Birds

BBC One sitcom about two young women. 86 episodes (pilot + 10 series), 1969 - 1996. Stars Nerys Hughes, Polly James, Elizabeth Estensen, Pauline Collins and others.

Series 4, Episode 4 - Where's Beryl?

London is the 'fun place' to be according to Sandra but Beryl doesn't get to find out why she had such an interest in the Big City until they are on the train...

Broadcast details

Wednesday 23rd January 1974
30 minutes


    Cast & crew

    Regular cast
    Nerys Hughes Sandra Hutchinson
    Polly James Beryl Hennessey
    John Nettles Paul
    Guest cast
    Bunny May George
    Avril Angers Receptionist
    Peter Hughes Mr Johnson
    Gigi Gatti Waitress
    Linda James Secretary
    Fidelis Morgan Housemaid
    Writing team
    Carla Lane Writer
    John Chapman Script Editor
    Production team
    Sydney Lotterby Producer
    Anna Ridley Production Designer

    Supporters and subscribers get more

    Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

    • Broadcast details of 11 past repeats of this episode

    Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

    Already a donor or Pro user?