The Liver Birds. Image shows from L to R: Beryl Hennessey (Polly James), Sandra Hutchinson (Nerys Hughes). Copyright: BBC
The Liver Birds

The Liver Birds

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 1969 - 1996
  • 86 episodes (10 series)

Sitcom exploring the lives and loves of two young, single females sharing a flat together in Liverpool. Stars Nerys Hughes, Polly James, Elizabeth Estensen, Pauline Collins, Mollie Sugden and more.

Episode menu

Series 4, Episode 9 - Anyone For Freedom

Robert has proposed to Beryl over the phone, but she's not satisfied and insists that he returns from London to do it in person and present her with a ring.

Broadcast details

Wednesday 6th March 1974
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Tuesday 18th October 2011 8:40am Gold
Wednesday 19th October 2011 6:30am Gold
Friday 2nd March 2012 6:30am Gold
Friday 2nd March 2012 8:40am Gold
Thursday 14th June 2012 8:20am Gold
Friday 15th June 2012 6:30am Gold
Friday 9th November 2012 7:40am Gold
Saturday 10th November 2012 6:00am Gold
Saturday 26th January 2013 6:30am Gold
Monday 24th November 2014 1:00pm Drama

Cast & crew

Nerys Hughes Sandra Hutchinson
Polly James Beryl Hennessey
Mollie Sugden Thelma Hutchinson
John Nettles Paul
Jonathan Lynn Robert
Guest cast
Freddie Earlle Restaurant Manager
Elizabeth Benson Saleslady
Robin Parkinson Jeweller's Assistant
Andreas Markos Waiter
Hazel Douglas Lady in Restaurant
Elisabeth Wade Lady Thief
Spyros Moutsatos Singer
Writing team
Carla Lane Writer
John Chapman Script Editor
Production team
Douglas Argent Director
Sydney Lotterby Producer
Oliver Bayldon Production Designer

Share this page