The Liver Birds. Image shows from L to R: Beryl Hennessey (Polly James), Sandra Hutchinson (Nerys Hughes). Copyright: BBC
The Liver Birds

The Liver Birds

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 1969 - 1996
  • 86 episodes (10 series)

Sitcom exploring the lives and loves of two young, single females sharing a flat together in Liverpool. Stars Nerys Hughes, Polly James, Elizabeth Estensen, Pauline Collins, Mollie Sugden and more.

Episode menu

Series 6, Episode 1 - Facing Up To Life

Carol's father announces he is going to marry the girl he has been living with.

Broadcast details

Friday 13th February 1976
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Wednesday 10th December 2014 1:00pm Drama

Cast & crew

Nerys Hughes Sandra Hutchinson
Elizabeth Estensen Carol Boswell
Mollie Sugden Thelma Hutchinson
Michael Angelis Lucian
Eileen Kennally Mrs. Boswell
Ray Dunbobbin (as Ray Dundobbin) Mr. Boswell
Jack Le White Grandad
Guest cast
Robert Gillespie Doctor
Jackie Fishel Barbara
Pat Guthrie Woman in Street
Ralph Watson Police Sergeant
Denis O'Neil Police Constable
Wendy Gerrard Woman in Street
Valerie Leigh Woman in Street
Writing team
Carla Lane Writer
Production team
Douglas Argent Producer

Share this page