The Liver Birds. Image shows from L to R: Beryl Hennessey (Polly James), Sandra Hutchinson (Nerys Hughes). Copyright: BBC
The Liver Birds

The Liver Birds

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 1969 - 1996
  • 86 episodes (10 series)

Sitcom exploring the lives and loves of two young, single females sharing a flat together in Liverpool. Stars Nerys Hughes, Polly James, Elizabeth Estensen, Pauline Collins, Mollie Sugden and more.

Episode menu

Series 6, Episode 2 - The Maypole

Carol's younger sister Barbara has gone off to London to live with her boyfriend, causing some worry. Sandra's boyfriend Paul offers to drive the girls down to see if all is well but the journey proves to be full of pitfalls. The car breaks down, a rucksack gets lost, and they become the proud possessors of a goat.

Broadcast details

Friday 20th February 1976
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Thursday 11th December 2014 1:00pm Drama

Cast & crew

Nerys Hughes Sandra Hutchinson
Elizabeth Estensen Carol Boswell
Mollie Sugden Thelma Hutchinson
Michael Angelis Lucian
John Nettles Paul
Eileen Kennally Mrs. Boswell
Ray Dunbobbin (as Ray Dundobbin) Mr. Boswell
Jack Le White Grandad
Guest cast
Hilda Fenemore Lady in Cafe
Joyce Windsor Lady in Cafe
Derek Etchells Driver
Jon Ellis Driver
Chris Canavan Driver
Harry Fielder Driver
Writing team
Carla Lane Writer
Production team
Douglas Argent Producer

Share this page