The Liver Birds. Image shows from L to R: Beryl Hennessey (Polly James), Sandra Hutchinson (Nerys Hughes). Copyright: BBC
The Liver Birds

The Liver Birds

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 1969 - 1996
  • 86 episodes (10 series)

Sitcom exploring the lives and loves of two young, single females sharing a flat together in Liverpool. Stars Nerys Hughes, Polly James, Elizabeth Estensen, Pauline Collins, Mollie Sugden and more.

Episode menu

Series 6, Episode 5 - Badgers And Otters

Sandra and Carol start a protest after the residents in the street Carol's family lives in receive letters telling them their homes are to be pulled down. The local council is not very sympathetic, however, and even Father O'Leary is not happy about the leaflets they put in his prayer books.

Broadcast details

Friday 12th March 1976
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Tuesday 16th December 2014 1:00pm Drama

Cast & crew

Nerys Hughes Sandra Hutchinson
Elizabeth Estensen Carol Boswell
Mollie Sugden Thelma Hutchinson
Michael Angelis Lucian
Eileen Kennally Mrs. Boswell
Ray Dunbobbin (as Ray Dundobbin) Mr. Boswell
Jack Le White Grandad
Guest cast
Jackie Fishel Barbara
Patrick McAlinney Father O'Leary
Michael Logan Mr. Widmark
Margot Field Mrs. Evans
Trevor Lawson Postman
Writing team
Carla Lane Writer
Production team
Douglas Argent Producer

Share this page