The Liver Birds. Image shows from L to R: Beryl Hennessey (Polly James), Sandra Hutchinson (Nerys Hughes). Copyright: BBC
The Liver Birds

The Liver Birds

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 1969 - 1996
  • 86 episodes (10 series)

Sitcom exploring the lives and loves of two young, single females sharing a flat together in Liverpool. Stars Nerys Hughes, Polly James, Elizabeth Estensen, Pauline Collins, Mollie Sugden and more.

Episode menu

Series 6, Episode 4 - The Never-Ending End

Carol's Grandad decides that he is not wanted or loved by his family. When he vanishes, the whole family get very worried. Sandra and Carol visit the cemetery, and find his tobacco tin near Grandma's grave.

Broadcast details

Friday 5th March 1976
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Monday 15th December 2014 1:00pm Drama

Cast & crew

Nerys Hughes Sandra Hutchinson
Elizabeth Estensen Carol Boswell
Mollie Sugden Thelma Hutchinson
Michael Angelis Lucian
Eileen Kennally Mrs. Boswell
Ray Dunbobbin (as Ray Dundobbin) Mr. Boswell
Jack Le White Grandad
Guest cast
Patrick McAlinney Father O'Leary
Earl Deacon Policeman
Gordon Rollings Police Sergeant
Writing team
Carla Lane Writer
Production team
Douglas Argent Producer

Share this page