The Liver Birds. Image shows from L to R: Beryl Hennessey (Polly James), Sandra Hutchinson (Nerys Hughes). Copyright: BBC
The Liver Birds

The Liver Birds

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 1969 - 1996
  • 86 episodes (10 series)

Sitcom exploring the lives and loves of two young, single females sharing a flat together in Liverpool. Stars Nerys Hughes, Polly James, Elizabeth Estensen, Pauline Collins, Mollie Sugden and more.

Episode menu

Series 5 - In Every Street

In the midst of their present-wrapping and last minute Christmas planning Carol and Sandra feel impelled to spread Yuletide cheer among the less fortunate.

Broadcast details

Tuesday 23rd December 1975
40 minutes

Cast & crew

Nerys Hughes Sandra Hutchinson
Elizabeth Estensen Carol Boswell
Michael Angelis Lucian
Eileen Kennally Mrs. Boswell
Jack Le White Grandad
Ivan Beavis Henry Hutchinson
Guest cast
Hilda Barry Mrs Rowlands
Herbert Ramskill Mr Todd
Mollie Maureen Mrs Parker
Roger Gale TV Interviewer
Michael Bilton Man at Window
Gary Cook Boy Carol Singer
Writing team
Carla Lane Writer
Production team
Douglas Argent Producer
Tim Gleeson Production Designer

Share this page