The Liver Birds. Image shows from L to R: Beryl Hennessey (Polly James), Sandra Hutchinson (Nerys Hughes). Copyright: BBC
The Liver Birds

The Liver Birds

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 1969 - 1996
  • 86 episodes (10 series)

Sitcom exploring the lives and loves of two young, single females sharing a flat together in Liverpool. Stars Nerys Hughes, Polly James, Elizabeth Estensen, Pauline Collins, Mollie Sugden and more.

Episode menu

Series 5, Episode 5 - Dinner For Three

Sandra finds herself dealing with the problems of other people - especially when it comes to boyfriends and mothers!

Broadcast details

Friday 3rd October 1975
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Thursday 27th October 2011 8:40am Gold
Friday 28th October 2011 6:30am Gold
Thursday 15th March 2012 6:30am Gold
Thursday 15th March 2012 8:40am Gold
Monday 25th June 2012 8:20am Gold
Tuesday 26th June 2012 6:30am Gold
Wednesday 21st November 2012 7:40am Gold
Thursday 22nd November 2012 6:00am Gold
Thursday 31st January 2013 6:00am Gold
Friday 5th December 2014 1:00pm Drama

Cast & crew

Nerys Hughes Sandra Hutchinson
Elizabeth Estensen Carol Boswell
Mollie Sugden Thelma Hutchinson
Michael Angelis Lucian
John Nettles Paul
Eileen Kennally Mrs. Boswell
Guest cast
Patrick McAlinney Father O'Leary
Barry Stokes Bill
Linda Beckett Waitress
Stanley Dawson Caretaker
Writing team
Carla Lane Writer
Production team
Ray Butt Director
Sydney Lotterby Producer
Tim Gleeson Production Designer

Share this page