The Liver Birds. Image shows from L to R: Beryl Hennessey (Polly James), Sandra Hutchinson (Nerys Hughes). Copyright: BBC
The Liver Birds

The Liver Birds

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 1969 - 1996
  • 86 episodes (10 series)

Sitcom exploring the lives and loves of two young, single females sharing a flat together in Liverpool. Stars Nerys Hughes, Polly James, Elizabeth Estensen, Pauline Collins, Mollie Sugden and more.

Episode menu

Series 5, Episode 6 - The Lily And The Dandelion

Sandra and Carol have a disagreement - Sandra wants to preserve all of God's little creatures but Carol is more interested in preserving herself. The bigger question appears to be how to preserve their friendship!

Broadcast details

Friday 10th October 1975
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Friday 28th October 2011 8:40am Gold
Saturday 29th October 2011 6:30am Gold
Friday 16th March 2012 6:30am Gold
Friday 16th March 2012 8:40am Gold
Tuesday 26th June 2012 8:20am Gold
Wednesday 27th June 2012 6:30am Gold
Thursday 22nd November 2012 7:40am Gold
Friday 23rd November 2012 6:00am Gold
Thursday 31st January 2013 6:30am Gold
Friday 1st February 2013 2:30am Gold
Monday 8th December 2014 1:00pm Drama

Cast & crew

Nerys Hughes Sandra Hutchinson
Elizabeth Estensen Carol Boswell
Eileen Kennally Mrs. Boswell
Jack Le White Grandad
Guest cast
Ralph Watson Police Sergeant
Denis O'Neil Police Constable
Cynthia Michaelis (as Cynthia Michaels) First Neighbour
Alan Partington Second Neighbour
Sean Flanagan Paperboy
Writing team
Carla Lane Writer
Production team
Sydney Lotterby Producer
Tim Gleeson Production Designer

Share this page