The Liver Birds. Image shows from L to R: Beryl Hennessey (Polly James), Sandra Hutchinson (Nerys Hughes). Copyright: BBC
The Liver Birds

The Liver Birds

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 1969 - 1996
  • 86 episodes (10 series)

Sitcom exploring the lives and loves of two young, single females sharing a flat together in Liverpool. Stars Nerys Hughes, Polly James, Elizabeth Estensen, Pauline Collins, Mollie Sugden and more.

Episode menu

Series 5, Episode 3 - You've Got To Laugh

Carol is determined to take Sandra's mind of her worries, but her best efforts are undermined by her Uncle Billy (deceased).

Broadcast details

Friday 19th September 1975
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Tuesday 25th October 2011 8:40am Gold
Wednesday 26th October 2011 6:30am Gold
Tuesday 13th March 2012 6:30am Gold
Tuesday 13th March 2012 8:40am Gold
Friday 22nd June 2012 8:30am Gold
Saturday 23rd June 2012 6:30am Gold
Monday 19th November 2012 7:00am Gold
Tuesday 20th November 2012 6:00am Gold
Wednesday 30th January 2013 6:00am Gold
Wednesday 3rd December 2014 1:00pm Drama

Cast & crew

Nerys Hughes Sandra Hutchinson
Elizabeth Estensen Carol Boswell
Mollie Sugden Thelma Hutchinson
Michael Angelis Lucian
John Nettles Paul
Eileen Kennally Mrs. Boswell
Jack Le White Grandad
Guest cast
Jackie Fishel Barbara
Philip Jackson Delivery Man
Joe Holmes Old Man
Writing team
Carla Lane Writer
Production team
Sydney Lotterby Producer
Tim Gleeson Production Designer

Share this page