The Liver Birds. Image shows from L to R: Beryl Hennessey (Polly James), Sandra Hutchinson (Nerys Hughes). Copyright: BBC.

The Liver Birds

BBC One sitcom about two young women. 86 episodes (pilot + 10 series), 1969 - 1996. Stars Nerys Hughes, Polly James, Elizabeth Estensen, Pauline Collins and others.

Series 4, Episode 10 - Follow That Ring

Another round of Liverpudlian adventures with Sandra and Beryl.

Broadcast details

Wednesday 13th March 1974
30 minutes


    Cast & crew

    Regular cast
    Nerys Hughes Sandra Hutchinson
    Polly James Beryl Hennessey
    Mollie Sugden Mrs. Hutchinson
    John Nettles Paul
    Ivan Beavis Mr. Hutchinson
    Sheila Fay Mrs. Hennessey
    Jonathan Lynn Robert
    Guest cast
    Geoffrey Palmer Doctor
    Sheila Keith Sister
    David Valla Hospital porter
    Ray Dunbobbin (as Ray Dundobbin) Railway porter
    Writing team
    Carla Lane Writer
    John Chapman Script Editor
    Production team
    Ray Butt Director
    Sydney Lotterby Producer
    David Spode Production Designer

    Supporters and subscribers get more

    Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

    • Broadcast details of 11 past repeats of this episode

    Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

    Already a donor or Pro user?