The Liver Birds. Image shows from L to R: Beryl Hennessey (Polly James), Sandra Hutchinson (Nerys Hughes). Copyright: BBC.

The Liver Birds

BBC One sitcom about two young women. 86 episodes (pilot + 10 series), 1969 - 1996. Stars Nerys Hughes, Polly James, Elizabeth Estensen, Pauline Collins and others.

Series 2, Episode 11 - Mother's Day

Mother's Day would normally see Beryl's parents visit, but this year Sandra's invited hers. They compromise with a party, but neither mother likes the other and slob vs snob could result in friction!

Broadcast details

Thursday 18th March 1971
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Nerys Hughes Sandra Hutchinson
Polly James Beryl Hennessey
Mollie Sugden Mrs. Hutchinson
Sheila Fay Mrs. Hennessey
Guest cast
Cyril Shaps Mr. Hennessey
Mike Lucas Gerry
Ivan Beavis Mr. Hutchinson
Writing team
Carla Lane Writer
Myra Taylor Writer
John Chapman Script Editor
Production team
Sydney Lotterby Director
Sydney Lotterby Producer
Ronnie Hazlehurst Composer
Richard Hunt Production Designer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • Broadcast details of 12 further repeats of this episode

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?