The Liver Birds. Image shows from L to R: Beryl Hennessey (Polly James), Sandra Hutchinson (Nerys Hughes). Copyright: BBC.

The Liver Birds

BBC One sitcom about two young women. 86 episodes (pilot + 10 series), 1969 - 1996. Stars Nerys Hughes, Polly James, Elizabeth Estensen, Pauline Collins and others.

Series 2, Episode 3 - Wilf

Beryl and Sandra are frustrated to find they've overspent for yet another week. However, Sandra's latest squeeze, Wilf, works in his father's antiques shop and reckons an old commode could be worth a few pounds.


This episode is also known as The Holiday Fund and Housekeeping.

Broadcast details

Thursday 21st January 1971
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Nerys Hughes Sandra Hutchinson
Polly James Beryl Hennessey
Guest cast
Ken Jones Wilf's Father
Robin Hawdon James (Auctioneer)
Tony Jackson Wilf (Sandra's Boyfriend)
Alan Haines Second Auctioneer
Colin Bean Policeman
Roy Denton Tramp
Writing team
Carla Lane Writer
Myra Taylor Writer
Lew Schwarz Writer
Eric Idle Script Editor
Production team
Sydney Lotterby Director
Sydney Lotterby Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • Broadcast details of 6 further repeats of this episode
  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see production designer & composer credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?