The Liver Birds. Image shows from L to R: Beryl Hennessey (Polly James), Sandra Hutchinson (Nerys Hughes). Copyright: BBC.

The Liver Birds

BBC One sitcom about two young women. 86 episodes (pilot + 10 series), 1969 - 1996. Stars Nerys Hughes, Polly James, Elizabeth Estensen, Pauline Collins and others.

Series 10

1. Episode One

First broadcast: Monday 6th May 1996

Beryl and Sandra are back together, bruised by what life has offered them and refusing to admit to middle age.


2. Episode Two

First broadcast: Monday 13th May 1996

Secrets rise to the surface when Beryl and Sandra settle down with a bottle of wine.


3. Episode Three

First broadcast: Monday 20th May 1996

Beryl and Sandra join a demonstration to save a tree, but Beryl is taken aback when Sandra assumes the role of revolutionary leader and sends the peaceful demonstrators into battle.


4. Episode Four

First broadcast: Sunday 26th May 1996

In an effort to cheer themselves up, Sandra and Beryl go out on the town.


5. Episode Five

First broadcast: Monday 3rd June 1996

Beryl urges Sandra to spend a week with Rex while her mother is in hospital. Meanwhile, Gwyn goes on the run.


6. Episode Six

First broadcast: Monday 17th June 1996

When Sandra 's mother went into hospital Sandra had passionate nights with Rex in her home, but now Mrs Hutchinson is back, Sandra's life quickly reverts to normal. For Beryl there is some comfort when she gets a call from Gwyn, her runaway son; and Mrs Hennesey turns to God for her lottery numbers.


7. Episode Seven

First broadcast: Monday 24th June 1996

The recently reunited friends have a furious row about their mothers after Beryl's noise disturbs Sandra's fantasy about her beloved Rex. Beryl decides to move out of Sandra's house. Is this the end of the two women's friendship?