The Liver Birds. Image shows from L to R: Beryl Hennessey (Polly James), Sandra Hutchinson (Nerys Hughes). Copyright: BBC.

The Liver Birds

BBC One sitcom about two young women. 86 episodes (pilot + 10 series), 1969 - 1996. Stars Nerys Hughes, Polly James, Elizabeth Estensen, Pauline Collins and others.

Series 1

1. An Interesting Condition

First broadcast: Friday 25th July 1969

One way for a girl to tempt a fella is to use a potent perfume, and when Beryl helps herself rather liberally to Dawn's expensive bottle, it has a rather immediate effect - though perhaps not quite the one Beryl had in mind.


2. Episode Two

First broadcast: Friday 1st August 1969

Dawn and Beryl encounter a photographer.


3. Episode Three

First broadcast: Friday 8th August 1969

With a chance to break into the blue blood of aristocracy, Dawn and Beryl find that Huskisson Street is not the best of addresses. Their effort to conceal their humble background sets them up for a weekend of trouble on the verge of crime.


4. Episode Four

First broadcast: Friday 15th August 1969

The girls consider a holiday. But where?