The Liver Birds. Image shows from L to R: Beryl Hennessey (Polly James), Sandra Hutchinson (Nerys Hughes). Copyright: BBC.

The Liver Birds

BBC One sitcom about two young women. 86 episodes (pilot + 10 series), 1969 - 1996. Stars Nerys Hughes, Polly James, Elizabeth Estensen, Pauline Collins and others.

Series 1, Episode 3

With a chance to break into the blue blood of aristocracy, Dawn and Beryl find that Huskisson Street is not the best of addresses. Their effort to conceal their humble background sets them up for a weekend of trouble on the verge of crime.


This episode no longer exists in the archives. It is missing, believed wiped.

Broadcast details

Friday 8th August 1969
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Polly James Beryl Hennessey
Pauline Collins Dawn
Guest cast
David Wood Ray
Julian Holloway Tony
Frederick Peisley Actor
Erik Chitty Actor
Roland MacLeod Actor
Linda James Actor
Ian Morris Actor
Writing team
Carla Lane Writer
Myra Taylor Writer
Lew Schwarz Writer
Production team
Sydney Lotterby Director
Sydney Lotterby Producer
Allan Anson Production Designer
Ronnie Hazlehurst Composer