The Liver Birds. Image shows from L to R: Beryl Hennessey (Polly James), Sandra Hutchinson (Nerys Hughes). Copyright: BBC.

The Liver Birds

BBC One sitcom about two young women. 86 episodes (pilot + 10 series), 1969 - 1996. Stars Nerys Hughes, Polly James, Elizabeth Estensen, Pauline Collins and others.

Series 3, Episode 11 - The Driving Test

Sandra's boyfriend - who also happens to be the boss's son - is giving the pair driving lessons, but Beryl's struggling. Her boyfriend Johnny, however, is mad for cycling and his passion for the open road proves appealing to Sandra!

Broadcast details

Friday 28th April 1972
30 minutes


    Cast & crew

    Regular cast
    Nerys Hughes Sandra Hutchinson
    Polly James Beryl Hennessey
    Guest cast
    Clive Francis Aubrey
    Jonathan Lynn Johnny
    Brian Hayes Driving Examiner
    Meg Gleed Nurse
    Writing team
    Carla Lane Writer
    John Chapman Script Editor
    Production team
    Sydney Lotterby Director
    Sydney Lotterby Producer
    Peter Pitt Editor
    Ronnie Hazlehurst Composer
    Geoffrey Patterson Production Designer

    Supporters and subscribers get more

    Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

    • Broadcast details of 12 past repeats of this episode

    Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

    Already a donor or Pro user?