The Liver Birds. Image shows from L to R: Beryl Hennessey (Polly James), Sandra Hutchinson (Nerys Hughes). Copyright: BBC
The Liver Birds

The Liver Birds

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 1969 - 1996
  • 86 episodes (10 series)

Sitcom exploring the lives and loves of two young, single females sharing a flat together in Liverpool. Stars Nerys Hughes, Polly James, Elizabeth Estensen, Pauline Collins, Mollie Sugden and more.

Episode menu

Series 3, Episode 13 - The Parrot

A wrong number leads the girls to unwittingly invite a suicidal man to the flat, whilst Sandra is taking custody of her parents' pet parrot, Bonaparte.

Broadcast details

Friday 12th May 1972
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Sunday 9th October 2011 7:30am Gold
Monday 10th October 2011 6:30am Gold
Monday 20th February 2012 6:30am Gold
Monday 20th February 2012 8:40am Gold
Tuesday 5th June 2012 6:45am Gold
Wednesday 31st October 2012 7:40am Gold
Thursday 1st November 2012 6:00am Gold
Tuesday 22nd January 2013 2:10am Gold
Tuesday 22nd January 2013 6:00am Gold
Tuesday 11th November 2014 1:00pm Drama
Tuesday 11th November 2014 6:00pm Drama

Cast & crew

Nerys Hughes Sandra Hutchinson
Polly James Beryl Hennessey
Mollie Sugden Thelma Hutchinson
Guest cast
Christopher Sandford Jake
Felix Bowness Fred
Writing team
Carla Lane Writer
John Chapman Script Editor
Production team
Sydney Lotterby Director
Sydney Lotterby Producer
Ronnie Hazlehurst Composer
Geoffrey Patterson Production Designer

Share this page