The Liver Birds. Image shows from L to R: Beryl Hennessey (Polly James), Sandra Hutchinson (Nerys Hughes). Copyright: BBC
The Liver Birds

The Liver Birds

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 1969 - 1996
  • 86 episodes (10 series)

Sitcom exploring the lives and loves of two young, single females sharing a flat together in Liverpool. Stars Nerys Hughes, Polly James, Elizabeth Estensen, Pauline Collins, Mollie Sugden and more.

Episode menu

Series 7, Episode 8 - Yellow And Green Make Blue

When they decide to decorate the flat it is no surprise when Carol and Sandra can not agree on colour schemes - but who will win the day?

Broadcast details

Sunday 5th December 1976
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Thursday 8th January 2015 1:00pm Drama
Friday 9th January 2015 2:50am Drama

Cast & crew

Nerys Hughes Sandra Hutchinson
Elizabeth Estensen Carol Boswell
Mollie Sugden Thelma Hutchinson
Eileen Kennally Mrs. Boswell
Ray Dunbobbin (as Ray Dundobbin) Mr. Boswell
Guest cast
Elizabeth Benson Lady from Flat 8
Marjorie Wilde Bessie
Beatrice Shaw Bessie's Friend
Philip Ryan (as Phil Ryan) Removal Man
Adele Mansell Child in Street
Sarah Drinkwater Child in Street
Writing team
Carla Lane Writer
Production team
Douglas Argent Producer
Ian Rawnsley Production Designer

Share this page