The Liver Birds. Image shows from L to R: Beryl Hennessey (Polly James), Sandra Hutchinson (Nerys Hughes). Copyright: BBC
The Liver Birds

The Liver Birds

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 1969 - 1996
  • 86 episodes (10 series)

Sitcom exploring the lives and loves of two young, single females sharing a flat together in Liverpool. Stars Nerys Hughes, Polly James, Elizabeth Estensen, Pauline Collins, Mollie Sugden and more.

Episode menu

Series 7, Episode 5 - Oh The Shame Of It

Carol has found a man who has everything - he's good-looking, charming and ambitious but Sandra and her family don't share her enthusiasm.

Broadcast details

Sunday 14th November 1976
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Monday 5th January 2015 1:00pm Drama
Tuesday 6th January 2015 2:50am Drama

Cast & crew

Nerys Hughes Sandra Hutchinson
Elizabeth Estensen Carol Boswell
Mollie Sugden Thelma Hutchinson
Michael Angelis Lucian
Eileen Kennally Mrs. Boswell
Ray Dunbobbin (as Ray Dundobbin) Mr. Boswell
Guest cast
Keith Washington Leonard
John Quarmby Mr. Baxter
Writing team
Carla Lane Writer
Production team
Douglas Argent Producer
Ian Rawnsley Production Designer

Share this page