The Liver Birds. Image shows from L to R: Beryl Hennessey (Polly James), Sandra Hutchinson (Nerys Hughes). Copyright: BBC
The Liver Birds

The Liver Birds

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 1969 - 1996
  • 86 episodes (10 series)

Sitcom exploring the lives and loves of two young, single females sharing a flat together in Liverpool. Stars Nerys Hughes, Polly James, Elizabeth Estensen, Pauline Collins, Mollie Sugden and more.

Episode menu

Series 7, Episode 4 - Love 'Em - And Almost Leave 'Em

Sandra is in for a shock when Carol's cousin Aveline comes to stay and introduces the flatmates to a whole new set of rules. But they soon discover that there is nothing new under the sun.

Broadcast details

Sunday 7th November 1976
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Friday 19th December 2014 1:00pm Drama

Cast & crew

Nerys Hughes Sandra Hutchinson
Elizabeth Estensen Carol Boswell
Mollie Sugden Thelma Hutchinson
Michael Angelis Lucian
Eileen Kennally Mrs. Boswell
Guest cast
Judith Lloyd Aveline
Marian Kemmer Hospital Sister
Writing team
Carla Lane Writer
Production team
Douglas Argent Producer
Ian Rawnsley Production Designer

Share this page