The Liver Birds. Image shows from L to R: Beryl Hennessey (Polly James), Sandra Hutchinson (Nerys Hughes). Copyright: BBC
The Liver Birds

The Liver Birds

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 1969 - 1996
  • 86 episodes (10 series)

Sitcom exploring the lives and loves of two young, single females sharing a flat together in Liverpool. Stars Nerys Hughes, Polly James, Elizabeth Estensen, Pauline Collins, Mollie Sugden and more.

Episode menu

Series 7, Episode 6 - Cry Please

Sandra is concerned that Carol's new boyfriend is trying to change her and warns her about his intentions - but Carol is too much in love to take notice.

Broadcast details

Sunday 21st November 1976
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Tuesday 6th January 2015 1:00pm Drama
Wednesday 7th January 2015 2:50am Drama

Cast & crew

Nerys Hughes Sandra Hutchinson
Elizabeth Estensen Carol Boswell
Mollie Sugden Thelma Hutchinson
Michael Angelis Lucian
Eileen Kennally Mrs. Boswell
Ray Dunbobbin (as Ray Dundobbin) Mr. Boswell
Guest cast
Keith Washington Leonard
David Simeon Earl
Rita Howard Lady on Bus
Jeannie Collings Candy
Writing team
Carla Lane Writer
Production team
Douglas Argent Producer
Ian Rawnsley Production Designer

Share this page