Friday Night With Jonathan Ross. Jonathan Ross. Copyright: Hot Sauce.

Friday Night With Jonathan Ross

BBC One chat show. 275 episodes (18 series), 2001 - 2010. Stars Jonathan Ross, David Roper, David Wickenden, Ian Parkin and Stephen de Martin.

Series 17, Episode 6 - Jeremy Piven, Chris Evans, JLS, Kasabian

Jonathan Ross is joined by controversial Radio 2 DJ Chris Evans; Emmy award-winning Hollywood star Jeremy Piven; and X Factor finalists, boy band JLS. There is also a performance from indie giants Kasabian.

Further details

Friday Night With Jonathan Ross. Chris Evans. Copyright: Hot Sauce.

Chris Evans - BBC Radio 2's new breakfast host - joins Jonathan Ross. In an extraordinarily candid interview Chris says he can't wait to take over from Terry Wogan and won't fail: "There was no fear, I said yes straight away. What happened at Radio 1 will never happen again, I will never get to that point."

He says he was out of control at Radio 1: "I was so messed up, I was crazy. I've always been tricky to work with, but I stopped delivering, I'd run out of ideas... I lost control of the whole situation. Someone should have come up and said you're out of order... but I can't blame anyone."

He said he had no qualms about borrowing £85m and playing hard: "It wasn't a gamble, I was living my dream... I just forgot where I was, we were rock 'n' roll, I thought we were real."

But Chris Evans says he is nervous at being back on TV: "I never thought I'd do anything like this again, I was nervous about coming on in case I got crazy."

Boy band JLS are also among the show's guests. They reveal they've lost their MOBO awards and confirm their tour in 2010.


Kasabian performed Underdog.

Broadcast details

Friday 9th October 2009
60 minutes


    Cast & crew

    Regular cast
    Jonathan Ross Host / Presenter
    David Roper (as Four Poofs and a Piano) Band
    David Wickenden (as Four Poofs and a Piano) Band
    Ian Parkin (as Four Poofs and a Piano) Band
    Stephen de Martin (as Four Poofs and a Piano) Band
    Guest cast
    Jeremy Piven Guest
    Chris Evans Guest
    Writing team
    Jim Pullin Writer
    Shaun Pye Writer
    Fraser Steele Writer
    Jonathan Ross Writer
    Production team
    Mick Thomas Director
    Tom Barrett Producer
    Deborah Cox Producer
    Suzi Aplin Executive Producer
    Katie Taylor Executive Producer
    Addison Cresswell Executive Producer
    Steve Andrews Editor
    Tom Jarvis Editor
    Richard Drew Production Designer

    Supporters and subscribers get more

    Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

    • Broadcast details of a past repeats
    • This episode's inital overnight ratings

    Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

    Already a donor or Pro user?