The League Of Gentlemen. Image shows from L to R: Tubbs (Steve Pemberton), Edward (Reece Shearsmith). Copyright: BBC.

The League Of Gentlemen

BBC Two sitcom / sketch show set in an odd town. 22 episodes (3 series), 1999 - 2017. Stars Reece Shearsmith, Mark Gatiss and Steve Pemberton.

Series 1, Episode 4 - The Beast Of Royston Vasey

The schoolchildren get a visit from the incompetent Legz Akimbo Theatre Company and the Denton children get cousin Benjamin in more trouble than he can possibly imagine.

Further details

Chinnery examines the beast of Royston Vasey, but can he correctly identify it? Is it anything to do with the animals missing from Roundabout Zoo?

The Legz Akimbo Theatre Company - whose motto is 'Put yourself in a child' - arrive in town to perform a play at the local school, about homosexuality aimed at 9 to 12-year-olds.

At the Dentons, toad-loving Harvey displays his finest specimens, Sonny and Cher, to Benjamin. The pair will soon be entered in the Annual Croaker Parade, meaning the Toad Breeder Shield is finally within his grasp. Ben wants to get the next train home but must babysit the twins... which proves to be one of the worst experiences of his life.

Stella and Charlie Hull make one of their regular trips to Luigi's restaurant. They bicker about a holiday in Tenerife, when Stella allegedly took a man back to the hotel. Meanwhile, Edward examines his handy-work at the construction site through binoculars from the moors beyond. Has it halted the new road?

Broadcast details

Monday 1st February 1999
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Steve Pemberton Tubbs
Reece Shearsmith Edward
Reece Shearsmith Benjamin
Steve Pemberton Uncle Harvey
Mark Gatiss Auntie Val
Steve Pemberton Charlie Hull
Reece Shearsmith Stella Hull
Mark Gatiss Mr Chinnery
Reece Shearsmith Ollie Plimsolls
Steve Pemberton Dave Parkes
Mark Gatiss Phil Proctor
Reece Shearsmith Mrs Levinson
Reece Shearsmith Bernice Woodall
Steve Pemberton Barbara Dixon (Voice)
Guest cast
Edward McCracken Colin (Job Seeker)
Don Estelle Little Don (Zoo owner)
John Flitcroft Foreman
Keith Ladd Policeman 1
Ian Ralph Policeman 2
Glenn Cunningham Blind Man
John De Main Luigi
Megan De Wolf Chloe Denton
Rosy De Wolf Radclyffe Denton
Steve Pemberton Farmer Tinsel
Steve Pemberton Ernest Foot
Mark Gatiss Andrew Ward (Scarecrow)
Steve Pemberton Inspector Shakespeare
Writing team
Mark Gatiss Writer
Reece Shearsmith Writer
Steve Pemberton Writer
Jeremy Dyson Writer
Production team
Steve Bendelack Director
Sarah Smith Producer
Jon Plowman Executive Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • Broadcast details of 31 further repeats of this episode
  • This episode's inital overnight ratings
  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see associate producer, editor & production designer credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?