The League Of Gentlemen. Image shows from L to R: Tubbs (Steve Pemberton), Edward (Reece Shearsmith). Copyright: BBC.

The League Of Gentlemen

BBC Two sitcom / sketch show set in an odd town. 22 episodes (3 series), 1999 - 2017. Stars Reece Shearsmith, Mark Gatiss and Steve Pemberton.

20th Anniversary Specials, Episode 1 is repeated on Gold on Tuesday 24th December at 11:20pm.

Series 2, Episode 6 - Royston Vasey and the Monster from Hell

The nosebleed epidemic claims a distinguished victim, and the Legz Akimbo Theatre Company misjudge the public mood.

Further details

Royston Vasey has been plunged into chaos. The nosebleeds are everywhere and the Army has arrived... it is like a plague has taken over.

David's bride has been chosen - it's Barbara the transsexual cabbie - but the big day is overshadowed by the bleeding orifices.

The police have a pretty good idea what is causing the deadly problem though, but the panicking locals decide to take matters into their own hands, misunderstanding what Benjamin means about the Local Shop. The locals set fire to the shop and, as it burns to the ground, Edward and Tubbs slow-dance to their demise.

Broadcast details

Friday 18th February 2000
30 minutes


    Cast & crew

    Regular cast
    Steve Pemberton Tubbs
    Reece Shearsmith Edward
    Reece Shearsmith Benjamin
    Steve Pemberton Uncle Harvey
    Mark Gatiss Auntie Val
    Steve Pemberton Charlie Hull
    Reece Shearsmith Stella Hull
    Mark Gatiss Dr Chinnery
    Steve Pemberton Herr Lipp
    Reece Shearsmith Ollie Plimsolls
    Steve Pemberton Dave Parkes
    Mark Gatiss Phil Proctor
    Reece Shearsmith Mrs Levinson
    Mark Gatiss Hilary Briss
    Reece Shearsmith Sam Chignell
    Steve Pemberton Maurice Evans
    Steve Pemberton Reenie
    Reece Shearsmith Vinnie
    Mark Gatiss Murray
    Steve Pemberton Barbara Dixon (Voice)
    Guest cast
    Amanda Lockett Pram Woman
    Megan De Wolf Chloe Denton
    Rosy De Wolf Radclyffe Denton
    Les Doherty Postman
    Johnny Leeze Inspector Cox
    Martina McClements Roberta Smart
    Helen Lambert Eunice Evans
    Roy Chubby Brown Mayor Larry Vaughan
    Niall Ross Hogan (as Nial Ross Hogan) John
    Jeillo Edwards Yvonne
    Tim Beasley Police Officer
    Edward Wiseman Young Homeless
    Mark Gatiss Tony Bell
    Ian Tully Man in Crowd
    Jaqui Ross Actor
    Paul H. Marshall Actor
    Mike Flanagan Actor
    Ian Ralph Actor
    Writing team
    Mark Gatiss Writer
    Reece Shearsmith Writer
    Steve Pemberton Writer
    Jeremy Dyson Writer
    Production team
    Steve Bendelack Director
    Jemma Rodgers Producer
    Jon Plowman Executive Producer
    Will Yarrow Editor
    Adam Windmill Editor
    Peter Hallworth Editor
    Sarah Kane Production Designer
    Ruth Winn Production Designer
    Grenville Horner Production Designer
    Rob Kitzmann Director of Photography
    Yves Barre Costume Designer
    Vanessa White Make-up Designer
    Joby Talbot Composer

    Supporters and subscribers get more

    Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

    • Broadcast details of 31 past repeats of this episode
    • This episode's inital overnight ratings
    • BCG Pro Gold users can see additional crew credits  
      If you join BCG Pro Gold, you can see director of photography, costume designer & make-up designer credits for this episode.

    Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

    Already a donor or Pro user?