The League Of Gentlemen. Image shows from L to R: Tubbs (Steve Pemberton), Edward (Reece Shearsmith). Copyright: BBC.

The League Of Gentlemen

BBC Two sitcom / sketch show set in an odd town. 22 episodes (3 series), 1999 - 2017. Stars Reece Shearsmith, Mark Gatiss and Steve Pemberton.

20th Anniversary Specials, Episode 1 is repeated on Gold on Tuesday 24th December at 11:20pm.

Series 2, Episode 3 - A Plague on Royston Vasey

Pauline tackles Ross about her job prospects. Butcher Hilary Briss has a spot of bother with one of his special customers.

Further details

It's stock check day at the Local Shop, and Tubbs and Edward are delighted to discover they haven't sold a thing. Discussion turns to their son, David - who is now most definitely local - they decide that he needs a bride.

Pauline and Mickey, having been sacked from Burger Me after their misdemeanour was caught on camera, have a nasty confrontation with Ross at the Job Centre.

Demon butcher Hilary is outraged when Maurice brings his wife to a top secret meeting - the special stuff is for men only!

Broadcast details

Friday 28th January 2000
30 minutes


    Cast & crew

    Regular cast
    Steve Pemberton Tubbs
    Reece Shearsmith Edward
    Steve Pemberton Pauline
    Mark Gatiss Mickey
    Reece Shearsmith Ross
    Steve Pemberton Charlie Hull
    Reece Shearsmith Stella Hull
    Mark Gatiss Les McQueen
    Mark Gatiss Hilary Briss
    Reece Shearsmith Sam Chignell
    Steve Pemberton Maurice Evans
    Reece Shearsmith Bernice Woodall
    Steve Pemberton Pop
    Reece Shearsmith Henry
    Steve Pemberton Ally
    Guest cast
    Johnny Leeze Inspector Cox
    Laurel Gibb Ice Cream Man's Wife
    Chris Freeney Gary
    Alison Lloyd Hiker
    Helen Lambert Eunice Evans
    Jennifer Lin (as Jennifer Lim) Lynne
    Steve Pemberton Mr Best
    Steve Pemberton Iain Cashmore
    Reece Shearsmith Mike King
    Reece Shearsmith Olive Kilshaw
    Mark Gatiss Dr Simon
    Victoria Turner Actor
    Writing team
    Mark Gatiss Writer
    Reece Shearsmith Writer
    Steve Pemberton Writer
    Jeremy Dyson Writer
    Production team
    Steve Bendelack Director
    Jemma Rodgers Producer
    Jon Plowman Executive Producer
    Will Yarrow Editor
    Adam Windmill Editor
    Peter Hallworth Editor
    Sarah Kane Production Designer
    Ruth Winn Production Designer
    Grenville Horner Production Designer
    Rob Kitzmann Director of Photography
    Yves Barre Costume Designer
    Vanessa White Make-up Designer
    Joby Talbot Composer

    Supporters and subscribers get more

    Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

    • Broadcast details of 32 past repeats of this episode
    • BCG Pro Gold users can see additional crew credits  
      If you join BCG Pro Gold, you can see director of photography, costume designer & make-up designer credits for this episode.

    Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

    Already a donor or Pro user?