The League Of Gentlemen. Image shows from L to R: Tubbs (Steve Pemberton), Edward (Reece Shearsmith). Copyright: BBC.

The League Of Gentlemen

BBC Two sitcom / sketch show set in an odd town. 22 episodes (3 series), 1999 - 2017. Stars Reece Shearsmith, Mark Gatiss and Steve Pemberton.

Series 3, Episode 6 - How the Elephant Got Its Trunk

When Vinnie goes AWOL, Reenie is forced to take on a new volunteer at the charity shop. But who is the mysterious Keith Drop and what is the dark secret behind his costume jewellery? Meanwhile, Dog Cinema impresario Kenny Harris is shocked at the return of his arch enemy, the felinophiliac Dougal Siepp.

Further details

Geeky amateur magician Dean Tavalouris - in his own words, a cross between Derren Brown and David Blaine - launches his mystifying act onto the unsuspecting Royston Vasey public.

Dougal Siepp's Cat Theatre - causes concern for Kenny Harris, owner of the dog cinema.

And finally, the sinister secret behind the sinister face of the charity shop's new volunteer, Keith Drop, is revealed.

Broadcast details

Thursday 31st October 2002
30 minutes


    Cast & crew

    Regular cast
    Steve Pemberton Pauline
    Mark Gatiss Mickey
    Reece Shearsmith Ross
    Reece Shearsmith Geoff
    Steve Pemberton Mike
    Mark Gatiss Brian
    Steve Pemberton Charlie Hull
    Mark Gatiss Lance Longthorne
    Steve Pemberton Reenie
    Reece Shearsmith Vinnie
    Reece Shearsmith Bernice Woodall
    Reece Shearsmith Papa Lazarou
    Steve Pemberton Barbara Dixon (Voice)
    Guest cast
    Rusty Goffe Simba
    Gerald Stadden Pebbles
    Jon Key Tik-Tik
    Chris Freeney Gary
    Michael Gallagher Barbara Dixon
    Donna-Marie Dawson Kerry
    Christopher Eccleston Dougal Siepp
    Belinda Everett Alana
    Olga Grahame Minn
    Andrew Grose Miggy
    Gordon Langford-Rowe Pat
    Paul Oldham Bongo
    David Williams Frank
    Jennifer Lin (as Jennifer Lim) Lynne
    Mark Gatiss Alvin Steele
    Reece Shearsmith Mike King
    Reece Shearsmith Pamela Doove
    Mark Gatiss Tony Bell
    Reece Shearsmith Judith Buckle
    Reece Shearsmith Keith Drop
    Reece Shearsmith Dean Tavalouris
    Mark Gatiss Kenny Harris
    Steve Pemberton Oshi Kurosawa
    Reece Shearsmith Shirley Shelley
    Writing team
    Mark Gatiss Writer
    Reece Shearsmith Writer
    Steve Pemberton Writer
    Jeremy Dyson Writer
    Production team
    Steve Bendelack Director
    Mel Nortcliffe 1st Assistant Director
    Jemma Rodgers Producer
    Jon Plowman Executive Producer
    Adam Windmill Editor
    Tony Cranstoun Editor
    Grenville Horner Production Designer
    Rob Kitzmann Director of Photography
    Yves Barre Costume Designer
    Diane Chenery-Wickens Make-up Designer
    Joby Talbot Composer

    Supporters and subscribers get more

    Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

    • Broadcast details of 18 past repeats of this episode
    • BCG Pro Gold users can see additional crew credits  
      If you join BCG Pro Gold, you can see director of photography, costume designer, 1st assistant director & make-up designer credits for this episode.

    Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

    Already a donor or Pro user?