The League Of Gentlemen. Image shows from L to R: Tubbs (Steve Pemberton), Edward (Reece Shearsmith). Copyright: BBC.

The League Of Gentlemen

BBC Two sitcom / sketch show set in an odd town. 22 episodes (3 series), 1999 - 2017. Stars Reece Shearsmith, Mark Gatiss and Steve Pemberton.

Series 1, Episode 2 - The Road To Royston Vasey

We meet Pop, the godfather of sweets and crisps, and Hilary Briss, a butcher with something sinister in his sausages.

Further details

Workmen are carrying out a survey for the new road, but a worried Tubbs and Edward are determined to keep strangers away.

Meanwhile posh Judee Levinson is off to Antigua for a luxury holiday; how will her cleaner, Iris, cope with her demands?

Restart officer Pauline holds a workshop for her jobseekers. As ever, it is nothing useful - she gives them the vital skill of... how to sell the Big Issue.

We also meet the demon butcher of Royston Vasey, Hilary Briss, for the first time and are introduced not only to his fine meats, but his "special stuff".

Meanwhile, Benjamin is getting concerned about his friend Martin and tries to contact him.

Broadcast details

Monday 18th January 1999
30 minutes


    Cast & crew

    Regular cast
    Steve Pemberton Tubbs
    Reece Shearsmith Edward
    Steve Pemberton Pauline
    Mark Gatiss Mickey
    Reece Shearsmith Ross
    Reece Shearsmith Benjamin
    Steve Pemberton Uncle Harvey
    Mark Gatiss Auntie Val
    Mark Gatiss Les McQueen
    Mark Gatiss Dr Chinnery
    Reece Shearsmith Mrs Levinson
    Mark Gatiss Iris
    Mark Gatiss Hilary Briss
    Reece Shearsmith Sam Chignell
    Reece Shearsmith Bernice Woodall
    Steve Pemberton Pop
    Mark Gatiss Al
    Reece Shearsmith Richie
    Reece Shearsmith Henry
    Steve Pemberton Ally
    Guest cast
    Stephen Chapman Mr. Kidd (Builder)
    Ameet Channa Shack (Thom McQueen's friend)
    Colin Parry Thom McQueen (Son of Les)
    Mark Gatiss Mr. Wynt (Builder)
    Writing team
    Mark Gatiss Writer
    Reece Shearsmith Writer
    Steve Pemberton Writer
    Jeremy Dyson Writer
    Production team
    Steve Bendelack Director
    Sarah Smith Producer
    Jon Plowman Executive Producer
    Jemma Rodgers Associate Producer
    Adam Windmill Editor
    Nick McPhee Editor
    Sarah Kane Production Designer
    Grenville Horner Production Designer
    Rob Kitzmann Director of Photography
    Yves Barre Costume Designer
    Vanessa White Make-up Designer
    Joby Talbot Composer

    Supporters and subscribers get more

    Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

    • Broadcast details of 32 past repeats of this episode
    • BCG Pro Gold users can see additional crew credits  
      If you join BCG Pro Gold, you can see associate producer, director of photography, costume designer & make-up designer credits for this episode.

    Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

    Already a donor or Pro user?